Is my PC too Old?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
marx404
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:59 am

Is my PC too Old?

Post by marx404 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:23 pm

First specs on my home-built PC.
ASUS M2N-SL1 mobo
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/M2NSLI_Deluxe/
(Link posted for info)
AMD Athlon II 64 bit
Crucial memory 1g
ATI Radeon 8350? GPU
HP DVD Writer
floppy drive (stop laughing)
Rosewood multi-card reader
Maxtor 200G HD
Pretty much all SATA connection

Currently running Mint 17.3 32 bit, unable to install 64 bit anything.

I am unable to install anything but Mint 17.3 Cinnamon 32 bit (and older) but not above that.
If I try to install anything 64 bit, the DVD install crashes upon boot or freezes on the splash screen.

Have tried MATE and Xfce 19.1, no luck. Is my machine finally outdated?
Is my PC unable to run 64 bit? BIOS latest update was (ahem) 2010.
Everything runs perfect on 17.3 right now, but want to update. Help. Thanks!
marx404

deepakdeshp
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5840
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by deepakdeshp » Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:47 pm

Please post output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
command in code tags
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.2 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

marx404
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:59 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by marx404 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:29 pm

thanks, will do when I get home.
marx404

br1anstorm
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 360
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:53 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by br1anstorm » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:38 pm

I'm no expert on what-software-works-with-what-hardware. But I understand that 64-bit OS won't run on a 32-bit computer.

And 32-bit is gradually fading away. A lot of Linux distros no longer offer 32-bit versions.

So.... if your old home build computer is 32-bit (with limited processor power...) then I imagine that you have little option but to look at distros which are still provided in 32-bit version. You'll probably need a lightweight one.

There are, I think, several still available. If you've been running Mint 17.3 (as I have), then take a look at MX Linux. I've tried it. It works well on my older laptops.

rene
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4167
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by rene » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:44 pm

The Athlon II is a 64-bit CPU; the fact that a 64-bit install boots even up to "the splash screen" means it's in essence fine; I expect you have a graphics card compatibility issue; booting with "nomodeset" (see the release notes) could help get you further; use the Xfce edition. Also, hitting Esc when it "freezes" could get you useful information.

That 1G of RAM however is very minimal these days, certainly for 64-bit, and even for the Xfce edition. Up to you of course whether or not you still consider the system useful in the first place, but if you do I'd at least upgrade memory to 4G, possibly 8G (max. for your board); would not even consider still using it with less than 2G. DDR2-800 is probably cheap enough second hand.

br1anstorm
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 360
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:53 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by br1anstorm » Tue Apr 09, 2019 5:52 pm

rene's post shows that non-experts like me shouldn't post comments that (unwittingly!) point in the wrong direction!

Ignore my earlier response and take rene's advice.....

marx404
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:59 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by marx404 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:29 pm

deepakdeshp wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:47 pm
Please post output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
command in code tags

Code: Select all

System:    Host: xxxx Kernel: 3.13.0-24-generic i686 (32 bit gcc: 4.8.2)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 2.8.8 (Gtk 3.10.8~8+qiana)
           Distro: Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M2N-SLI DELUXE v: 1.XX
           Bios: Phoenix v: ASUS M2N-SLI DELUXE 1804 date: 09/16/2010
CPU:       Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 svm) bmips: 4018
           clock speeds: max: 2600 MHz 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1000 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RV635 [Radeon HD 3650/3750/4570/4580]
           bus-ID: 03:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.15.1 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1360x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RV635
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.1.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA MCP55 High Definition Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:06.1
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RV635 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 3600 Series]
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 03:00.1
           Card-3 Logitech driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 001-003
           Card-4 Logitech driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 002-004
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.13.0-24-generic
Network:   Card-1: NVIDIA MCP55 Ethernet
           driver: forcedeth port: ec00 bus-ID: 00:08.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Belkin F7D2101 802.11n Surf & Share Wireless Adapter v1000 [Realtek RTL8192SU]
           driver: r8712u usb-ID: 001-004
           IF: wlan0 state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 203.9GB (9.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Maxtor_6L200P0 size: 203.9GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 183G used: 14G (8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 51.0C mobo: 41.0C gpu: 65.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 5443 psu: 0 sys-1: 2368 sys-2: 0 sys-3: 0 sys-4: 0
Info:      Processes: 161 Uptime: 4 min Memory: 536.4/4037.7MB
           Init: Upstart runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.4
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.111) inxi: 2.2.28 

Typo corrction, I have 4g memory.
Not too shabby 10 yrs ago, but seems time is running out for the ol gal, OS - wise.
Last edited by Moem on Wed Apr 10, 2019 1:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Adding [code] tags. They retain some formatting that makes your output easier to read.
marx404

marx404
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:59 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by marx404 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:34 pm

rene wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:44 pm
The Athlon II is a 64-bit CPU; the fact that a 64-bit install boots even up to "the splash screen" means it's in essence fine; I expect you have a graphics card compatibility issue; booting with "nomodeset" (see the release notes) could help get you further; use the Xfce edition. Also, hitting Esc when it "freezes" could get you useful information.

That 1G of RAM however is very minimal these days, certainly for 64-bit, and even for the Xfce edition. Up to you of course whether or not you still consider the system useful in the first place, but if you do I'd at least upgrade memory to 4G, possibly 8G (max. for your board); would not even consider still using it with less than 2G. DDR2-800 is probably cheap enough second hand.
my typo, I do have 4G mem, Crucial DDR2

~ $ free -m
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 4037 2446 1591 60 88 1664
-/+ buffers/cache: 693 3344
Swap: 4091 0 4091
Last edited by marx404 on Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:06 am, edited 2 times in total.
marx404

deepakdeshp
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5840
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by deepakdeshp » Wed Apr 10, 2019 1:58 am

Version 17 is out of support now. Try Cinnamon 19 ,xfce live usb and test. Install whichever works best
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.2 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

br1anstorm
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 360
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:53 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by br1anstorm » Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:57 am

deepakdeshp wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 1:58 am
Version 17 is out of support now. Try Cinnamon 19 ,xfce live usb and test. Install whichever works best
OP says he's already tried Mint 19.1 MATE and XFCE with no joy. Cinnamon would be even more demanding. Looks as if there may be - as rene suggested - some other issue.

marx404
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:59 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by marx404 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:58 am

While I do appreciate the responses, Please read my OP and the thread responses before replying.
As I am unable to successfully install or run anything above 17.3, I too believe there may be a possibility of a HW or BIOS issue that is not playing along.
I have tested for those and everything seems fine. I will be keeping 17.3 until this issue can be resolved.

rene - I posted my INXI results, any thoughts?
marx404

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9062
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by Pierre » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:10 am

an thought :?: maybe it's time to go sideways:

MX Linux
https://mxlinux.org/
OR
anti-X
https://antixlinux.com/

as both are designed for those older machines.

anyway - - clock speeds: max: 2600 MHz 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1000 MHz
- that's were the real issue resides.
HDD is 200Gb - - a bit small, maybe - these days.
memory is 4Gb - - that's also mid spec, these days, too.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9353
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by Moem » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:26 am

Have you tried the advice rene already gave you?
rene wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:44 pm
The Athlon II is a 64-bit CPU; the fact that a 64-bit install boots even up to "the splash screen" means it's in essence fine; I expect you have a graphics card compatibility issue; booting with "nomodeset" (see the release notes) could help get you further; use the Xfce edition. Also, hitting Esc when it "freezes" could get you useful information.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

marx404
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:59 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by marx404 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:35 am

Pierre wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:10 am
anyway - - clock speeds: max: 2600 MHz 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1000 MHz
- that's were the real issue resides.
HDD is 200Gb - - a bit small, maybe - these days.
memory is 4Gb - - that's also mid spec, these days, too.
Ok, Im confused. Heres the Linux Mint 19.1 Blog, as written by Clem:

https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3669

System requirements:

1GB RAM (2GB recommended for a comfortable usage). - I have 4GB
15GB of disk space (20GB recommended). - I have 200GB

I honestly dont think this is the issue, but thanks.
marx404

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9062
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by Pierre » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:39 am

well - IMHO - that machine should run LM19.x Mate - comfortably.

but, having said that bit - it may not & due to an number of reasons:
- the graphics card being the 1st reason - usually.

if you can't get LinuxMint to run well - then go sideways & try another version of Linux:
- - there is a whole pile of Linux Systems out there.
8)
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

marx404
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:59 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by marx404 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:41 am

Moem wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:26 am
Have you tried the advice rene already gave you?
rene wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:44 pm
The Athlon II is a 64-bit CPU; the fact that a 64-bit install boots even up to "the splash screen" means it's in essence fine; I expect you have a graphics card compatibility issue; booting with "nomodeset" (see the release notes) could help get you further; use the Xfce edition. Also, hitting Esc when it "freezes" could get you useful information.
I will try nomodeset as time allows. Have already tried 19.1 and 18x in Xfce and Mate 32 and 64 bit with no fun. Created live DVD and freezes or crashes upon boot at black screen. No chance of hitting ESC at that point on a paperweight. Is there any other way to test my graphics card?
marx404

rene
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4167
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by rene » Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:08 am

marx404 wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:58 am
rene - I posted my INXI results, any thoughts?
Your PC is not too old in any fundamental sense. You have a 64-bit Athlon 64 X2 5200+ clocked at 2.6 GHz with 4G and a Radeon HD midlevel 3xxx / entrylevel 4xxxx GPU with probably 256M of dedicated graphics memory, possibly more. Wouldn't want to go intensely game with that but it's fine for Linux Mint 19, including its Cinnamon edition.

You seem to also be referring to non-deterministic behaviour as to exactly when the system stops booting 18.x or 19.x. Do you have a USB stick of 2+ G lying around to try and install from so as to get DVD (drive or media) issues out the way? If yes, use the Accessories -> USB Image Writer tool to write the ISO to the stick. You may need to enter your BIOS to allow boot from USB or may be able to pick that choice manually from a boot device menu you get, usually by tapping F12 when booting. You'd preferably also do the "integrity check" part of https://linuxmint.com/verify.php

But both if and if not a possibility to boot from USB, IIRC to try "nomodeset" you don't in fact have to go through the more involved method from the Relase Notes, https://www.linuxmint.com/rel_tessa_cinnamon.php, "Solving freezes during the boot sequence"; can just pick the "safe boot" or whatever it was called from the Grub menu you get when booting the ISO.

If it doesn't help things get more involved, but the system is once again good enough for current Mint in a fundamental sense.

marx404
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:59 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by marx404 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 3:38 pm

Thanks Rene. I tried to keep my explanation as simple as possible, but the same has happened with Zorin and LinuxLite :(
I tried my Sandisk 8G USB drive, checked the BIOS first,my system didnt even recognize the USB on boot, but I got a desktop icon once 17.3 booted.
Just to check my CD, I converted a few .ISO images to bootable DVDs and ran a checksum, all perfect.

I am still getting current updates via Update Manager, so I take it that some pkgs will still be supported throughout the month of April. That gives me some time.

Thank you for your help.
marx404

br1anstorm
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 360
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:53 am

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by br1anstorm » Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:03 pm

I'm following this discussion both as the user of 'old' machinery and because I too am in the position of having to move on from Mint 17.3.

A disclaimer: I don't want to divert down any side-track or cul-de-sac, and my tech knowledge is very limited. But the reference to Zorin and Linux Lite (both of which I have tried in the past) rang a very faint bell....

I seem to remember reading, somewhere, sometime (and it may have been on the Lite forums?) that some folk had encountered problems when using Asus machines with some Linux distros. I skimmed the details, as I have never had an Asus computer myself. But I notice from the OP that an Asus motherboard is listed. Might this be a possible angle on the problem?

I mention it as a clue, but accept that it may be a total red herring! Now I'll get out of the way so that rene, Pierre and others can do proper forensic work on the likely reasons - graphics card or whatever - for this particular problem.

rene
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4167
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Is my PC too Old?

Post by rene » Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:12 pm

br1anstorm wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:03 pm
Now I'll get out of the way so that rene, Pierre and others can do proper forensic work on the likely reasons - graphics card or whatever - for this particular problem.
I was personally in fact also already out of here, having gotten no response on the "safe boot" / nomodeset thingy...

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”