Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
markfilipak
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 915
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:08 pm
Location: Ohio (formerly California), USA

Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by markfilipak » Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:21 am

This is a continuation of viewtopic.php?f=208&t=301969&p=1687988 titled "Sudden transparency".

Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again.

I got 2 notices:
Notice #1:
"The configuration file /etc/gnome/defaults.list was modified (by you or by a script). An updated version is shipped in this package."

Code: Select all

--- /etc/gnome/defaults.list	2018-02-17 05:44:05.745580283 -0500
+++ /etc/gnome/defaults.list.dpkg-new	2017-05-11 10:07:37.000000000 -0400
@@ -20,6 +20,7 @@
 application/vnd.sun.xml.writer=libreoffice-writer.desktop
 application/vnd.sun.xml.writer.template=libreoffice-writer.desktop
 application/vnd.sun.xml.writer.global=libreoffice-writer.desktop
+application/vnd.oasis.opendocument.database=libreoffice-base.desktop
 application/vnd.oasis.opendocument.formula=libreoffice-math.desktop
 application/vnd.oasis.opendocument.graphics=libreoffice-draw.desktop
 application/vnd.oasis.opendocument.graphics-template=libreoffice-draw.desktop
@@ -232,9 +233,9 @@
 x-content/video-dvd=xplayer.desktop;totem.desktop
 x-content/video-vcd=xplayer.desktop;totem.desktop
 x-content/video-svcd=xplayer.desktop;totem.desktop
-x-content/audio-cdda=banshee-audiocd.desktop
+x-content/audio-cdda=rhythmbox-device.desktop
 x-content/audio-dvd=banshee-audiocd.desktop
-x-content/audio-player=banshee-audiocd.desktop
+x-content/audio-player=rhythmbox-device.desktop
 x-content/image-dcf=shotwell.desktop
 x-content/image-picturecd=shotwell.desktop
 zz-application/zz-winassoc-xls=libreoffice-calc.desktop
Notice #2:
"The configuration file /etc/grub.d/10_linux was modified (by you or by a script). An updated version is shipped in this package."

Code: Select all

--- /etc/grub.d/10_linux	2019-09-19 00:03:29.961254854 -0400
+++ /etc/grub.d/10_linux.dpkg-new	2017-11-05 10:01:41.000000000 -0500
@@ -39,7 +39,7 @@
 else
   case ${GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR} in
     Ubuntu|Kubuntu)
-      OS="Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon 64-bit"
+      OS=`grep GRUB_TITLE /etc/linuxmint/info | awk -F = '{print $2}'`
       ;;
     *)
       OS="${GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR} GNU/Linux"
@@ -177,11 +177,17 @@
 	linux	${rel_dirname}/${basename}.efi.signed root=${linux_root_device_thisversion} ro ${args}
 EOF
   else
-    sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/" << EOF
-	linux	${rel_dirname}/${basename} root=${linux_root_device_thisversion} ro ${args}
+    if [ x"$GRUB_FORCE_PARTUUID" = x ]; then
+        sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/" << EOF
+        linux	${rel_dirname}/${basename} root=${linux_root_device_thisversion} ro ${args}
+EOF
+    else
+        sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/" << EOF
+        linux	${rel_dirname}/${basename} root=PARTUUID=${GRUB_FORCE_PARTUUID} ro ${args}
 EOF
+    fi
   fi
-  if test -n "${initrd}" ; then
+  if test -n "${initrd}" && [ x"$GRUB_DISABLE_INITRD" != xtrue ]; then
     # TRANSLATORS: ramdisk isn't identifier. Should be translated.
     if [ x"$quiet_boot" = x0 ] || [ x"$type" != xsimple ]; then
       message="$(gettext_printf "Loading initial ramdisk ...")"
Do the devs really think users know what to do with that stuff?

I selected [Replace] both times.

When Mint finished booting I got this notification:
Problems durng Cinnamon startup
Cinnamon started successfully, but one or more applets,
desklets or extensions failed to load.
Check you system log and the Cinnamon LookingGlass log
for any issues. You can disable the offending extension(s) in
Cinnamon Settings to prevent this message from recurring.
Please contact the developer.

Are they kidding? "system log"? I've not seen a system log. "LookingGlass log"? Sure, right. "Cinnamon Settings"? I've never seen anything named "Cinnamon Settings".

I still have transparency, but it is unexpected and not desired (see: viewtopic.php?f=208&t=301969&p=1687988).
I have no Cinnamon Menu and System Settings (launched via Panel's context menu) still has no app to edit the Cinnamon Menu. (...Argh! What are the devs doing?)
I clicked Menu Bar in VBox Manager hoping that would help and now I have no VBox menu.
In Panel's context menu I saw 'Troubleshoot' as an action. I clicked it and, hoping to kill transparency, selected 'Looking Glass' and Melange launched. In Melange, the 'Log' tab revealed this:

Code: Select all

error t=2019-09-19T00:53:13Z redeclaration of let actors
error t=2019-09-19T00:53:13Z [Applet "menu@cinnamon.org"]: Error importing applet.js from menu@cinnamon.org
error t=2019-09-19T00:53:13Z Could not load applet menu@cinnamon.org
Good grief.

Via the Panel's context menu, I opened Applets. There was "Menu"! ...with a black dialog bubble surrounding a white 'X'. When I hover over the black bubble, the tool tip says: "Something when wrong while loading menu@cinnamon.org. Please make sure you are using the latest version, and then report the issue to its developer."

Since I had no menu, I couldn't launch a web browser or even a terminal session (which I could use to launch a web browser), so I had to force Mint to close. I then restored the old 'Mint.vdi' ...and here I am, running the old Mint 18 once again, getting the Cinnamon crashes, again. I sure am glad the new Mint 18.3 has all those neet new features; too bad I can't run it.

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9512
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by Moem » Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:14 am

markfilipak wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:21 am
Since I had no menu, I couldn't launch a web browser or even a terminal session (which I could use to launch a web browser), so I had to force Mint to close.
For future reference:
Alt+F2 opens a command prompt.
Alt+Ctrl+t opens a terminal.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
pbear
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2417
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by pbear » Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:32 am

FWIW, I followed a similar upgrade path in VBox without difficulty. Main differences are I started with 18.1, I did the upgrade back when 18.3 was relatively new, and there was an intermediate upgrade to 18.2. Still have the VM, though, and it runs fine. For reference, the current inxi output:

Code: Select all

pbear@vbox-cinn-18-123 ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: vbox-cinn-18-123 Kernel: 4.15.0-64-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: innotek (portable) product: VirtualBox v: 1.2
           Mobo: Oracle model: VirtualBox v: 1.2 Bios: innotek v: VirtualBox date: 12/01/2006
CPU:       Single core Intel Core i3 M 370 (-UP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3) bmips: 4787 speed: 2393 MHz (max)
Graphics:  Card: VMware SVGA II Adapter bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: vmware (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x669@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on SVGA3D; build GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801AA AC'97 Audio Controller driver: snd_intel8x0 ports: d100 d200 bus-ID: 00:05.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-64-generic
Network:   Card: Intel 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: e1000 v: 7.3.21-k8-NAPI port: d020 bus-ID: 00:03.0
           IF: enp0s3 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 42.9GB (48.4% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: VBOX_HARDDISK size: 42.9GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 38G used: 18G (50%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1.83GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 159 Uptime: 4 min Memory: 481.0/3421.6MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
Frankly, I think it's more likely an ordinary packages out-of-whack problem. BTW, bear in mind 18 and 18.1 used MDM, so that might be relevant.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
If your problem has been solved, please edit the thread title.

markfilipak
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 915
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:08 pm
Location: Ohio (formerly California), USA

Re: Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by markfilipak » Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:25 am

pbear wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:32 am
FWIW, I followed a similar upgrade path in VBox without difficulty. Main differences are I started with 18.1, I did the upgrade back when 18.3 was relatively new, and there was an intermediate upgrade to 18.2.
I think you're suggesting I upgrade 18 to 18.1, then 18.2, then 18.3. That's brilliant, pbear! I'll save a VDI backup with each upgrade. Thanks! ...I knew I came to the right place for good advice.
Frankly, I think it's more likely an ordinary packages out-of-whack problem. BTW, bear in mind 18 and 18.1 used MDM, so that might be relevant.
What, prey tell, is MDM? ...and don't call me, Frank Lee. :wink: The name's Mark, stirred and shakin'.

Ah, MDM: "MDM stands for MDM Display Manager (not Mint Display Manager and not MATE Display Manager)".

So 18 & 18.1 used MDM. What are you implying? that 18.2 & 18.3 use something else to manage the screen? Is that relevant? How is it relevant?

markfilipak
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 915
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:08 pm
Location: Ohio (formerly California), USA

Re: Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by markfilipak » Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:32 am

Moem wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:14 am
... Alt+Ctrl+t opens a terminal.
Good tip. I made a zero-byte note of that right in my Windows Start Menu so I'll see it every time I launch Mint.

User avatar
pbear
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2417
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by pbear » Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:19 am

markfilipak wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:25 am
I think you're suggesting I upgrade 18 to 18.1, then 18.2, then 18.3.
Alas, no, that's not what I meant. My main point was that there's nothing intrinsically flawed in how VBox handles an upgraded 18.x system (at least, once all the updates have been run). Then I pointed out a potentially important difference in my upgrade path, which is SOP when troubleshooting. Anyhoo, intermediate upgrade isn't an option as far as I know. Certainly, Mint Update only supports upgrade to 18.3. By the way, what does 18.3 have that you want? Is it Flatpak? Might be easier to backport that to 18.0 than figure out why upgrade is going sideways.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
If your problem has been solved, please edit the thread title.

markfilipak
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 915
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:08 pm
Location: Ohio (formerly California), USA

Re: Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by markfilipak » Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:32 pm

pbear wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:19 am
... By the way, what does 18.3 have that you want? ...
Peace of Mind. Whenever I need help, some forum moderators complain about me being 3 years out of date and refuse to help.

PS: I miss the Bay Area and the Sierra.

User avatar
pbear
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2417
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by pbear » Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:20 pm

In my observation, that's a problem with 18.x generally, for the simple reason most experienced users upgrade to the next level soon after release (maybe waiting for bugs to settle down), so no longer have the prior version in service. Anyhoo, I'd say that's reason enough to upgrade, but not enough reason to push on in the face of major hurdles. OTOH, your machine so your decision. Or, as discussed in the other thread, do a reinstall.

As for this thread. only advice I can offer is what smurphos said in the last one. You're way behind on updates. Try putting all those through and see whether that helps. By the way, the replacement for MDM is LightDM. I mentioned it because seems to me you're having a display problem.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
If your problem has been solved, please edit the thread title.

User avatar
smurphos
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4560
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by smurphos » Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:08 am

markfilipak wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:21 am
Do the devs really think users know what to do with that stuff?
You would if you read the upgrade instructions before upgrading.

viewtopic.php?f=143&t=235992
https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3462

Your menu issue is a result of you running a modified menu - viewtopic.php?f=208&t=294896&p=1639969& ... u#p1639969
Basically you need to delete the modified version from ~/..local/share/cinnamon/applets/ before upgrading. Once the upgrade is complete then you can reapply the tweaks to the 18.3 / Cinnamon 3.6.7 version of the menu applet.

I did pretty much tell you this in that thread....
smurphos wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 12:43 am
Should markfilipak's system ever receive a Cinnamon update (unlikely as it's quite an old cinnamon-version)) or he choose to update Mint versions and receives a new Cinnamon version that way he would be recommended to repeat this exercise - i.e. basically redo the edit but using the newer version of the menu applet as the base.
By the way I don't think an upgrade to 18.3 on it's own would have solved your problem in Virtualbox - the 18.3 upgrade wouldn't touch your kernel version for example.
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

markfilipak
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 915
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:08 pm
Location: Ohio (formerly California), USA

Re: Disaster upgrading to Mint 18.3 Sylvia again

Post by markfilipak » Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:24 am

smurphos wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:08 am
markfilipak wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:21 am
Do the devs really think users know what to do with that stuff?
You would if you read the upgrade instructions before upgrading.

viewtopic.php?f=143&t=235992
I've not seen that. I go to linuxmint.com to update.
I did read that. It doesn't say much, does it?
Your menu issue is a result of you running a modified menu - viewtopic.php?f=208&t=294896&p=1639969& ... u#p1639969
Basically you need to delete the modified version from ~/..local/share/cinnamon/applets/ before upgrading. Once the upgrade is complete then you can reapply the tweaks to the 18.3 / Cinnamon 3.6.7 version of the menu applet.

I did pretty much tell you this in that thread....
And I did follow your advice.
By the way I don't think an upgrade to 18.3 on it's own would have solved your problem in Virtualbox - the 18.3 upgrade wouldn't touch your kernel version for example.
And why would I want a different kernel? ...Don't bother answering that. I'm going with 19.2, so it's moot.

PS: By the way, CTRL+ALT+F1 works now in my system, but it didn't before I changed the Intel Display hot keys. Since I'm running a VM, when I pressed CTRL+ALT+F1, it never even got to the Mint VM.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”