Can't boot when not plugged into AC power

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
rthwm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:46 pm

Can't boot when not plugged into AC power

Post by rthwm »

I am completely new to using Linux and have been experimenting with this for a couple days now. I am a little confused though and not sure how to fix this.
I have a HP laptop (model: 15-cw1068wm). If this laptop isn't plugged into power on boot, it makes it past the GRUB loader but goes to a black screen and just sits there. I have to hold down the power button and do a force shut-down each time. However, if I plug in the AC power, it boots and everything seems to work. I believe I am running Mint 20.

I am not sure if this is related or not, but when it does boot up on power, once I select Linux from the boot options (dual booting with Windows), I get an error message at the top of the screen that stays there for maybe 10 seconds or so.
[1.506778] Initramfs unpacking failed: decoding failed
[1.520344] pci 0000:00:00.2: AMD-Vi: Unable to read/write to IOMMU perf counter.
[1.606653] tpm-crb MSFT0101:00 can't request region for resource [mem 0xda5

Once this error is displayed and goes away, the LinuxMint boot logo appears, then a few seconds later, it goes to a black screen, shows the error message again from above. A few seconds later the error goes away and then the Mint login screen appears. If the laptop isn't plugged in, I get a black screen after I select linux from the boot options and that's it, no errors, no nothing, just a black screen.

As said, i'm completely new and have no clue what I am actually doing. I found a form online where someone else was having a similar issue but on a Dell laptop. Someone said to edit GRUB, which I followed their advice but it didn't seem to make a difference at all (not sure what I actually did and not sure how to get back to where I made that edit at).

Sorry for the long post but if anyone can assist, I appreciate it.

Not sure if this is needed or not, but read it helps to post the system report stuff.

Code: Select all

System:    Kernel: 5.4.0-39-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.6.6 
           wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: HP product: HP Pavilion Laptop 15-cw1xxx v: N/A serial: <filter> 
           Chassis: type: 10 serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: HP model: 8615 v: 46.24 serial: <filter> UEFI: AMI v: F.42 date: 11/15/2019 
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 39.2 Wh condition: 39.2/39.2 Wh (100%) volts: 13.1/11.6 
           model: Hewlett-Packard Primary serial: <filter> status: Full 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 3500U with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx bits: 64 
           type: MT MCP arch: Zen+ rev: 1 L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
           flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 33539 
           Speed: 1477 MHz min/max: 1400/2100 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1477 2: 1477 3: 3692 
           4: 3693 5: 1477 6: 1477 7: 1477 8: 1477 
Graphics:  Device-1: AMD Picasso vendor: Hewlett-Packard Pavilion Laptop 15-cw1xxx driver: amdgpu 
           v: kernel bus ID: 04:00.0 chip ID: 1002:15d8 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: amdgpu,ati unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa 
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD RAVEN (DRM 3.35.0 5.4.0-39-generic LLVM 9.0.1) v: 4.6 Mesa 20.0.4 
           direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: AMD Raven/Raven2/Fenghuang HDMI/DP Audio 
           vendor: Hewlett-Packard Pavilion Laptop 15-cw1xxx driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 04:00.1 chip ID: 1002:15de 
           Device-2: AMD Raven/Raven2/FireFlight/Renoir Audio Processor driver: N/A 
           bus ID: 04:00.5 chip ID: 1022:15e2 
           Device-3: AMD Family 17h HD Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard Pavilion Laptop 15-cw1xxx 
           driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 04:00.6 chip ID: 1022:15e3 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-39-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8822BE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac WiFi adapter vendor: Hewlett-Packard 
           driver: rtw_pci v: N/A port: f000 bus ID: 02:00.0 chip ID: 10ec:b822 
           IF: wlo1 state: up mac: <filter> 
           Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
           vendor: Hewlett-Packard Pavilion Laptop 15-cw1xxx driver: r8169 v: kernel port: e000 
           bus ID: 03:00.0 chip ID: 10ec:8168 
           IF: eno1 state: down mac: <filter> 
           IF-ID-1: lxcbr0 state: down mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 1.84 TiB used: 52.36 GiB (2.8%) 
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: PCIe SSD size: 953.87 GiB speed: 31.6 Gb/s lanes: 4 
           serial: <filter> 
           ID-2: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD10SPZX-60Z10T0 size: 931.51 GiB 
           speed: 6.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 915.89 GiB used: 26.14 GiB (2.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
USB:       Hub: 1-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 4 rev: 2.0 chip ID: 1d6b:0002 
           Device-1: 1-4:2 info: Realtek Bluetooth Radio type: Bluetooth driver: btusb rev: 1.1 
           chip ID: 0bda:b00b 
           Hub: 2-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 4 rev: 3.1 chip ID: 1d6b:0003 
           Hub: 3-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 2 rev: 2.0 chip ID: 1d6b:0002 
           Hub: 3-1:2 info: Genesys Logic Hub ports: 4 rev: 2.0 chip ID: 05e3:0608 
           Device-2: 3-1.2:3 info: Quanta type: Video driver: uvcvideo rev: 2.0 chip ID: 0408:5300 
           Hub: 4-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 1 rev: 3.1 chip ID: 1d6b:0003 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 61.5 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 45 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:     No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
           1: deb [arch=amd64] http: //dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
           1: deb http: //packages.linuxmint.com ulyana main upstream import backport #id:linuxmint_main
           2: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal main restricted universe multiverse
           3: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           4: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           5: deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ focal-security main restricted universe multiverse
           6: deb http: //archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ focal partner
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/virtualbox.list 
           1: deb [arch=amd64] http: //download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian bionic contrib
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/windscribe-repo.list 
           1: deb https: //repo.windscribe.com/ubuntu bionic main
Info:      Processes: 272 Uptime: 1h 01m Memory: 5.78 GiB used: 1.62 GiB (28.0%) Init: systemd 
           v: 245 runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 alt: 9 Client: Unknown python3.8 client 
           inxi: 3.0.38 

User avatar
arvy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 806
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:22 am

Re: Can't boot when not plugged into AC power

Post by arvy »

rthwm wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:08 pm
I am not sure if this is related or not, but when it does boot up on power, once I select Linux from the boot options (dual booting with Windows), I get an error message at the top of the screen that stays there for maybe 10 seconds or so.
[1.506778] Initramfs unpacking failed: decoding failed
[1.520344] pci 0000:00:00.2: AMD-Vi: Unable to read/write to IOMMU perf counter.
[1.606653] tpm-crb MSFT0101:00 can't request region for resource [mem 0xda5

Once this error is displayed and goes away, the LinuxMint boot logo appears, then a few seconds later, it goes to a black screen, shows the error message again from above. A few seconds later the error goes away and then the Mint login screen appears. If the laptop isn't plugged in, I get a black screen after I select linux from the boot options and that's it, no errors, no nothing, just a black screen.
I can't offer any sure solution, nor ever a cogent analysis for that matter, but I can tell you that your aren't alone. I've see exactly those same results on my ASUS VivoBook 15 X510QA laptop. It was connected to AC charging power at the time and so that variable doesn't seem to be the source of the issue. I never did manage to pin down the actual culprit as the problem eventually resolved itself and hasn't recurred since -- not so far at least. If it does and if I'm able to discover the underlying cause, I'll certainly pass it along. For now, I can only attribute it to "gremlins" that sometimes seem to find their way into early new releases.
System: Asus ROG Maximus XI Code mobo, Intel i9-9900K CPU, Nvidia GTX1080 GPU, 32 GB DDR4-3600 RAM, Sumsung Pro 2x512GB NVMe & 3x1TB SSD, Multiboot


User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2163
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: Can't boot when not plugged into AC power

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

rthwm wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:08 pm

Code: Select all

[1.506778] Initramfs unpacking failed: decoding failed
[1.520344] pci 0000:00:00.2: AMD-Vi: Unable to read/write to IOMMU perf counter.
[1.606653] tpm-crb MSFT0101:00 can't request region for resource [mem 0xda5
The first one can be ignored, or you can fix it by going here: viewtopic.php?p=1836169#p1836169

Be aware that it might break again when the devs 'fix' it by switching to lz compression.

The second two are probably related. First, you should check for a BIOS update at the manufacturer's website and update your BIOS if one is available. Second, if you didn't start the installation in compatibility mode and if you didn't boot into the new OS with nomodeset, it might pay to reinstall using the instructions in the release announcement: https://linuxmint.com/rel_ulyana_cinnamon.php

You need the section titled "Solving freezes during the boot sequence". Don't use the nouveau.noaccel=1 option. The release notice assumes you have an nVidia card, which you don't have. All the other instructions are fine, just choose the AMD driver in driver manager. Once the driver is installed, you should be able to boot without nomodeset.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.

rthwm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:46 pm

Re: Can't boot when not plugged into AC power

Post by rthwm »

The first one can be ignored, or you can fix it by going here: viewtopic.php?p=1836169#p1836169

The second two are probably related. First, you should check for a BIOS update at the manufacturer's website and update your BIOS if one is available. Second, if you didn't start the installation in compatibility mode and if you didn't boot into the new OS with nomodeset, it might pay to reinstall using the instructions in the release announcement: https://linuxmint.com/rel_ulyana_cinnamon.php

You need the section titled "Solving freezes during the boot sequence". Don't use the nouveau.noaccel=1 option. The release notice assumes you have an nVidia card, which you don't have. All the other instructions are fine, just choose the AMD driver in driver manager. Once the driver is installed, you should be able to boot without nomodeset.
--------------------------------------------------------

1) Followed the steps for your first suggestion, which did get rid of the first error that was showing on the screen.
2) I updated my bios to the latest version available just before install of linux.
3) Don't recall doing anything with compatibility mode or doing anything with nomodeset (not sure what that is lol)
4) Read the article and going to do a reinstall using the information on that page and see what happens.

Thank you for the help.

User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2163
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: Can't boot when not plugged into AC power

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

rthwm wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:35 am
Thank you for the help.
It's a pleasure.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.

rthwm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:46 pm

Re: Can't boot when not plugged into AC power

Post by rthwm »

Kadaitcha Man wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:43 am
rthwm wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:35 am
Thank you for the help.
It's a pleasure.
I went through and followed the steps. Once it booted back up, it prompted me that my drivers needed to be updated. Once that completed, I did a power off and was able to boot up on battery only (which is the first time that has happened). The other two error messages are still there, but it didn't stop my laptop from booting, so not really worried about them.

I mentioned initially where another user with a Dell was having a similar problem, I recall in his post, he said that when he first powered up with the power plugged in, he could remove the ac power, unplug / use the battery and power back up and it would work fine. However, if he left the laptop powered off for a few hours / overnight, the next day the problem was be back again.

I didn't really pay attention closely if mine is doing that as well, when I power up in the morning, I typically leave the laptop on for the day. I am going to go ahead and power down for the night and check it in the morning and see if it will still boot on just the battery. I am hopeful that the information you provided has fixed this issue for good!

User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2163
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: Can't boot when not plugged into AC power

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

rthwm wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 3:02 am
I am hopeful that the information you provided has fixed this issue for good!
So am I :)
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”