BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
kishoreuk2008
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 12:06 pm

BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by kishoreuk2008 »

I'm using HP-15-AC650TU Notebook (It's a little old and like a toaster). I have also updated my BIOS to latest version F.30.
After the BIOS update I started to get this BIOS error message while booting Linux Mint. There was random shutdown problems too. I took my notebook to the HP technician and they said that my BIOS is perfectly good. They installed windows in my notebook and it worked fine. As I'm a huge fan of Linux Mint I decided to install Linux Mint 20 again by completely removing Windows 10.
Then again this BIOS error message started to pop up while booting.

Image

Image

Image

Very risky problem is that my Notebook started to shutdown randomly without any notifications. So my HDD got damaged because of this and I installed SSD in my notebook.

After searching on forums for hours I found that including 'nomodeset' in the grub will skip the BIOS problem. Atlast it solved the shutdown problem too. But after including 'nomodeset' in grub, Linux Mint disabled my Video Graphics (Intel Haswell-ULT / Intel HD 4400 Graphics) card and notebook became laggy and videos started to frame skip (tried all video players and software rendering).

Image

Somebody told me in a forum that I should install video graphics driver through driver manager but there is none.

Is there any other way to skip the BIOS error and at the same time I could use my Video Graphics Hardware?
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

kishoreuk2008 wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:33 am
I'm using HP-15-AC650TU Notebook (It's a little old and like a toaster).
Please start a live media session, open a terminal and paste this text in: inxi -Fxz and press enter. Copy the output from the terminal using your mouse to select the text and paste it back here between code tags. You'll see the code tags icon </> when you reply.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
User avatar
kishoreuk2008
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 12:06 pm

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by kishoreuk2008 »

These are the errors I get at the time of boot.

[ 0.832969] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.HEC.ECRD], AE_NOT_FOUND (20190816/psargs-330)
[ 0.833045] ACPI Error: Aborting method \_TZ.TZ00._TMP due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20190816/psparse-529)
[ 0.833300] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.HEC.ECRD], AE_NOT_FOUND (20190816/psargs-330)
[ 0.833368] ACPI Error: Aborting method \_TZ.TZ00._TMP due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20190816/psparse-529)
[ 0.833514] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.HEC.ECRD], AE_NOT_FOUND (20190816/psargs-330)
[ 0.833581] ACPI Error: Aborting method \_TZ.TZ01._TMP due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20190816/psparse-529)
[ 0.833722] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.HEC.ECRD], AE_NOT_FOUND (20190816/psargs-330)
[ 0.833779] ACPI Error: Aborting method \_TZ.TZ01._TMP due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20190816/psparse-529)

This error I got from the log.

[ 66.898054] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: HSW/BDW HD-audio HDMI/DP requires binding with gfx driver
User avatar
kishoreuk2008
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 12:06 pm

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by kishoreuk2008 »

Kadaitcha Man wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:47 am
kishoreuk2008 wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:33 am
I'm using HP-15-AC650TU Notebook (It's a little old and like a toaster).
Please start a live media session, open a terminal and paste this text in: inxi -Fxz and press enter. Copy the output from the terminal using your mouse to select the text and paste it back here between code tags. You'll see the code tags icon </> when you reply.

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.4.0-26-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 
  Desktop: Cinnamon 4.6.6 Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana 
  base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: HP product: HP Notebook v: Type1ProductConfigId 
  serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: HP model: 80C3 v: 96.53 serial: <filter> UEFI: Insyde v: F.30 
  date: 12/24/2019 
CPU:
  Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5-4210U bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Haswell rev: 1 L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
  flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx 
  bogomips: 19156 
  Speed: 799 MHz min/max: 800/2700 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 798 2: 798 
  3: 798 4: 802 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics vendor: Hewlett-Packard 
  driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 4400 (HSW GT2) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 20.0.4 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:03.0 
  Device-2: Intel 8 Series HD Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-26-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL810xE PCI Express Fast Ethernet 
  vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: r8169 v: kernel port: 4000 bus ID: 07:00.0 
  IF: enp7s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter 
  vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: rtl8723be v: kernel port: 3000 
  bus ID: 0d:00.0 
  IF: wlp13s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 238.03 GiB used: 1.87 GiB (0.8%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WDS240G2G0A-00JH30 
  size: 223.58 GiB temp: 33 C 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: Toshiba model: TransMemory 
  size: 14.45 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 5.81 GiB used: 26.9 MiB (0.5%) fs: overlay source: ERR-102 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 49.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 197 Uptime: 1m Memory: 11.62 GiB used: 683.7 MiB (5.7%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.16 
  inxi: 3.0.38
Cucscspr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:08 am

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Cucscspr »

kishoreuk2008 wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:33 am
I'm using HP-15-AC650TU Notebook (It's a little old and like a toaster). I have also updated my BIOS to latest version F.30.
After the BIOS update I started to get this BIOS error message while booting Linux Mint. There was random shutdown problems too. I took my notebook to the HP technician and they said that my BIOS is perfectly good. They installed windows in my notebook and it worked fine. As I'm a huge fan of Linux Mint I decided to install Linux Mint 20 again by completely removing Windows 10.
Then again this BIOS error message started to pop up while booting.

Image

Image

Image

Very risky problem is that my Notebook started to shutdown randomly without any notifications. So my HDD got damaged because of this and I installed SSD in my notebook.

After searching on forums for hours I found that including 'nomodeset' in the grub will skip the BIOS problem. Atlast it solved the shutdown problem too. But after including 'nomodeset' in grub, Linux Mint disabled my Video Graphics (Intel Haswell-ULT / Intel HD 4400 Graphics) card and notebook became laggy and videos started to frame skip (tried all video players and software rendering).

Image

Somebody told me in a forum that I should install video graphics driver through driver manager but there is none.

Is there any other way to skip the BIOS error and at the same time I could use my Video Graphics Hardware?
It's a known BIOS bug for the ACPI fan. No big deal.
https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=202585

EDIT: You don't have Nvidia, I misread your statement. Disregard this, I will leave it as it may be helpful to other that do have Omptimus.
As for your gfx, sounds like you have OPTIMUS and need the PRIME driver. Common problem with laptops that have both iGPU and Discrete.
This should start you on the right track:
https://www.dell.com/support/article/en ... em?lang=en
Last edited by Cucscspr on Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

Cucscspr wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:04 am
As for your gfx, sounds like you have OPTIMUS and need the PRIME driver.
Guess again.

Code: Select all

Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics vendor: Hewlett-Packard 
  driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 4400 (HSW GT2) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 20.0.4 direct render: Yes 
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

kishoreuk2008 wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:51 am
These are the errors I get at the time of boot.

Code: Select all

[    0.832969] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.HEC.ECRD], AE_NOT_FOUND (20190816/psargs-330)
[    0.833045] ACPI Error: Aborting method \_TZ.TZ00._TMP due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20190816/psparse-529)
[    0.833300] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.HEC.ECRD], AE_NOT_FOUND (20190816/psargs-330)
[    0.833368] ACPI Error: Aborting method \_TZ.TZ00._TMP due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20190816/psparse-529)
[    0.833514] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.HEC.ECRD], AE_NOT_FOUND (20190816/psargs-330)
[    0.833581] ACPI Error: Aborting method \_TZ.TZ01._TMP due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20190816/psparse-529)
[    0.833722] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.HEC.ECRD], AE_NOT_FOUND (20190816/psargs-330)
[    0.833779] ACPI Error: Aborting method \_TZ.TZ01._TMP due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20190816/psparse-529)
In the previous thread, you said that this was solved. What went wrong? Can you repeat the instructions I gave you using pci=noaer instead of pcie=noaer. If that still doesn't fix it, we might have to disable some other stuff, so instead of pci=noaer, I want you to try after that with this:

pci=nomsi

If that doesn't work, try:

pci=nommconf

If those still show no joy, we may have to temporarily disable your wifi but I'll give instructions on that if they're needed.
Last edited by Kadaitcha Man on Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:21 am, edited 2 times in total.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
Cucscspr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:08 am

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Cucscspr »

Kadaitcha Man wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:08 am
Cucscspr wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:04 am
As for your gfx, sounds like you have OPTIMUS and need the PRIME driver.
Guess again.

Code: Select all

Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics vendor: Hewlett-Packard 
  driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 4400 (HSW GT2) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 20.0.4 direct render: Yes 
Then the original statement that the iGPU was disabled is incorrect, since it only has an iGPU if it was disabled there would be no video output.
I bet that one made you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. 1 out of few hundred eh?
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

Cucscspr wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:18 am
Then the original statement that the iGPU was disabled is incorrect
You need to take two aspirin and have a lie down. Nobody but you mentioned iGPU. You're imagining things. Seek help.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
Cucscspr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:08 am

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Cucscspr »

Also the decompression error is from them recently switching from gzip to lz. Don't worry about it.
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1835660
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

Cucscspr wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:21 am
Also the decompression error is from them recently switching from gzip to lz. Don't worry about it.
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1835660
I'll leave this thread now. You seem to have it all under control. Good luck helping the poster.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
Cucscspr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:08 am

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Cucscspr »

Kadaitcha Man wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:20 am
Cucscspr wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:18 am
Then the original statement that the iGPU was disabled is incorrect
You need to take two aspirin and have a lie down. Nobody but you mentioned iGPU. You're imagining things. Seek help.
He clearly states " Linux Mint disabled my Video Graphics (Intel Haswell-ULT / Intel HD 4400 Graphics) card ."
The 4400 is not a card it's an iGPU.

From Intel:
Intel HD Graphics 4400 is an integrated, GT2 graphics controller in the Core i-series of processors from Intel's Haswell generation.

Please, tell me again how I'm wrong.
Cucscspr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:08 am

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by Cucscspr »

Kadaitcha Man wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:23 am
Cucscspr wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:21 am
Also the decompression error is from them recently switching from gzip to lz. Don't worry about it.
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1835660
I'll leave this thread now. You seem to have it all under control. Good luck helping the poster.
That's the most helpful thing I've seen you post yet.
User avatar
kishoreuk2008
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 12:06 pm

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by kishoreuk2008 »

Cucscspr wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:27 am
Kadaitcha Man wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:20 am
Cucscspr wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:18 am
Then the original statement that the iGPU was disabled is incorrect
You need to take two aspirin and have a lie down. Nobody but you mentioned iGPU. You're imagining things. Seek help.
He clearly states " Linux Mint disabled my Video Graphics (Intel Haswell-ULT / Intel HD 4400 Graphics) card ."
The 4400 is not a card it's an iGPU.

From Intel:
Intel HD Graphics 4400 is an integrated, GT2 graphics controller in the Core i-series of processors from Intel's Haswell generation.

Please, tell me again how I'm wrong.
Sorry If I'm wrong. The last image shows that my system running without video hardware acceleration. I may experience poor performance and high cpu usage. This only happens when there is no driver for iGPU. Then it should have disabled it or it is not taking advantage of the iGPU.
windsurfer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 10:50 am

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by windsurfer »

I encountered similar problems with random shutdowns and reboots after installing Mint 20 Cinnamon. I think this is a bug. My system worked fine with Mint 19.3 Cinnamon. I have been able to repeat this problem by installing, updating and upgrading, and installing the recommended graphics driver. After a short period of time, the system begins to randomly reboot.

Today I tried installing Mint 20 xfce. My system has been running for hours with no problems. I suggest you try Mint 20 xfce just to prove to yourself that the problem isn't with your hardware.
Hope this helps.
windsurfer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 10:50 am

Re: BIOS Error Bug while booting.

Post by windsurfer »

Sorry, I spoke to soon. Mint 20 xfce also seems to share the same bug. My system shutdown and rebooted about 5 hours after clean install.

I would now recommend you try Mint 19.3 just to see if that causes any issues. It still works great for me.
Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”