LM detects the old HD first

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Swampthing
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:26 pm
Location: Denmark

LM detects the old HD first

Post by Swampthing »

Well ...
It's not a problem as such, but it annoys me a bit.
I installed a m.2 SSD and installed LM on it.
The old spinning HD was wiped.
The thing is, I'd like the SSD to be sda and not sdb.
I have searched high and low for a solution for this and can't find an answer.
All I found was something to do with UUID that detects the disks and names them accordingly
Is there a way, so UUID will detect the SSD before the HD?
rene
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6693
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: LM detects the old HD first

Post by rene »

There's isn't a (supported) way to reassign /dev/sda, /dev/sdb and so on: their ordering depends only on the order of discovery of the devices. This is the main reason that these days partition specifiers such as e.g. /dev/sda1 are not normally used anymore, that file-systems in e.g. /etc/fstab are specified by FS-UUID rather than the partition they're on. In theory you can't even depend on the ordering to be equal from boot to boot --- even though in practice it of course normally will be for static hardware.

But this is basically to say that you should live with it...
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3605
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: LM detects the old HD first

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

Swampthing wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 5:45 pm
I have searched high and low for a solution for this and can't find an answer.
Your machine's BIOS is responsible for initially bringing up the hard drives. From there, and in the simplest terms possible, when the Linux kernel takes over, it assigns drives to device slots based on first come, first served. This second phase of drive discovery means that devices are never guaranteed to always be in a particular order, so we use device UUIDs in fstab to automatically mount partitions rather than their device slot and partition number.

You need to look in your machine's manual for the answer. Specifically, boot order. Setting the boot order might settle the issue, but then, it might not because, as I said, it's not guaranteed.
Coming to a thread near you: Lots of bragging about my AMD 5950X. Currently delayed due to high demand.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2122
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: LM detects the old HD first

Post by ajgringo619 »

You could try swapping the cables. I did this when I first went to an SSD, but wanted to use my old HDD as a backup drive.
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-54-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v455.38]
Image
User avatar
Swampthing
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:26 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: LM detects the old HD first

Post by Swampthing »

rene wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 6:19 pm
But this is basically to say that you should live with it...
Ok, I can do that. :D
Kadaitcha Man wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 8:54 pm
Swampthing wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 5:45 pm
I have searched high and low for a solution for this and can't find an answer.
You need to look in your machine's manual for the answer. Specifically, boot order. Setting the boot order might settle the issue, but then, it might not because, as I said, it's not guaranteed.
Yeah, I did muck around in BIOS to change the boot order, that didn't work. :-|
ajgringo619 wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:11 pm
You could try swapping the cables. I did this when I first went to an SSD, but wanted to use my old HDD as a backup drive.
It's a laptop, so no cables. :-/

But since it isn't a problem, I'll just ignore the sda-sdb thing.
Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”