Before you post please read how to get help
jdubs
Level 1
Level 1

Grub/busybox 1.3 after boot selection

Post by jdubs »

Hi everyone,

I’m extremely new to Linux.

Basically I was trying to fix a Toshiba Satellite L655 for my gf mom.

It had a CMOS failure so I updated the time and date and saved. I realized this CMOS failure would come up anytime I unplugged the laptop from the power source. The laptop has no usable battery anyway. Anyway that being solved it brought me to windows 7 which would not boot up.

I thought let me try to install linux mint cinnamon on it and it worked via usb stick. I erased Windows 7 since it didn’t seem to work. I only have linux mint cinnamon now.I still had to set the BIOS time and date if it was unplugged but it seemed to be working.

I gave the laptop to the mom and it was unplugged after I first reset the BIOS for her but she said it worked when it was used again later after being replugged.

Fast forward a few days idk what happened but it stopped working. I’m guessing it has something to do with the BIOS resetting but I don’t know. She did plug in a Logitech mouse but that shouldn’t do anything.

It prompts me to select what I want to boot in GNU GRUB 2.04
(It didn’t do that before)

When I choose any option the LM logo comes up but then drops me into BusyBox 1.30.1

(initramsf)

Is there a good way to fix this? Do you believe this is because of BIOS and will happen anytime if it’s unplugged from installation of Linuxmint. Should I reinstall from the USB stick. I read maybe that the computer is not finding the OS.
asinoro
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Grub/busybox 1.3 after boot selection

Post by asinoro »

Maybe some of these will help you:
search.php?keywords=solved+fix+busybox
kelevra
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Grub/busybox 1.3 after boot selection

Post by kelevra »