Linux Mint only boots when charger is plugged in

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
DragonArrow9

Linux Mint only boots when charger is plugged in

Post by DragonArrow9 »

I am fairly new to Linux and I just installed Linux Mint on my Acer Aspire 5 version: A515-43-R19L. Everything worked great except that now I can only boot when the charger is plugged in. When I try to boot without the charger I get the mint logo for a few seconds then this message: AMD-Vi: Unable to read/write to IOMMU perf counter. Then a black screen with the white bar in the top left corner. I don't know that that message means, and I don't remember if it also was there while booting with the charger. To try and fix this, I went into the bios settings and disabled secure boot and fast boot, but that didn't help. From another forum, I went into the grub config and changed GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash" to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash dis_ucode_ldr". That didn't work either though, probably since it was for dell computers. If anyone could help me out with this that would be great!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
rossdv8
Level 7
Level 7
Location: Within 2,000 kilometres of Alice Springs, Australia

Re: Linux Mint only boots when charger is plugged in

Post by rossdv8 »

Since you can edit GRUB, you might also like to try the suggestion in this link (specifically relates to iommu):

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/628 ... ertificate

It might or might not work...

The following is quoted from the link - but perhaps you might like to read it before you try it..
Answer

I'm running debian on my laptop Lenovo XiaoXin pro13 (Ideapad s540 13) AMD ryzen 4800u, and encounter the same issues.