Cannot Set Up Wifi or Update Kernel

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Ninpodeshi
Level 1
Level 1

Cannot Set Up Wifi or Update Kernel

Post by Ninpodeshi »

I'm a Linux newbie setting up a PC for my students. The PC is a Dell Latitude D630, 32 bit. It came with Win XP, was upgraded to Win7, and crashed when I tried to clean it up. It wouldn't take Widows again, but I was able to install Linux Mint Tricia (32 bit.)

I can only access the internet with a cable, but the students use wifi through their phones at home, so it needs the wifi operational. I am following this guide: https://www.unixmen.com/how-to-get-wifi ... x-mint-19/. I get the same error message both when I try to update the kernel (Step 2) and when I try to install the wifi through the command line (Step 3):

Bus error (core dumped)
dpkg: error processing package libc-bin (--configure) :
installed libc-bin package post-installation script subprocess returned exit status 135
Errors were encountered while procssing:
libc-bin
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

Do I need to burn a new Linux disk? I'm running out of ideas. Thank you.

[I tried to load a screen shot of the error code, but kept getting a message that the file was too large? Even when I cropped it down to 436 kb? Could someone point me to the attachment limits, please? Thanks.]
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
sleeper12
Level 21
Level 21

Re: Cannot Set Up Wifi or Update Kernel

Post by sleeper12 »

On a machine that old, you should try Mint 19.2 Xfce 32 bit. Test it before you install it to see if wifi works for you. 19.2 has the older 4.15 kernel (better on older hardware), whereas 19.3 has the unsupported 5.0 kernel.
Ninpodeshi
Level 1
Level 1