After kernel update not booting

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Ihavethis
Level 1
Level 1

After kernel update not booting

Post by Ihavethis »

Hi everyone. I’m a newbie in Linux Mint. I had used it for 2-3 months on a new laptop rog strix g17. Very enjoying it. But today after an update of kernel to 58 ver the laptop is not booting more. I just see the “republic of gamers” logo and thats all. Is not moving forward. Please, any suggestion to restore the old kernel and all data, to bring back a normal life of that laptop? I hope the data was not lost definitely…
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
bodge99

Re: After kernel update not booting

Post by bodge99 »

Hi,

You've been unlucky..

Something is preventing your system from booting properly. At what stage this happens is the question.

This could be caused by your Bios settings.. Have a look and see if 'Secure Booting' is enabled. If it is, disable it. Save the changes and reboot.
If the boot fails again, restart. While you are in your Bios settings.. have a quick look to see if there is an option that is worded something like:
"Boot UEFI shell", "Run external EFI file", "Start external file" or similar. Don't make any further Bios setting changes but report what you have found (if anything) here.

As the system (tries) to start, repeatedly "stab" your 'esc' key. Watch the screen closely and look for **anything**.. a brief flash of text or a logo etc.