[Solved] Mint won't boot up - Boot Device Not Found

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
bassistguy
Level 1
Level 1

[Solved] Mint won't boot up - Boot Device Not Found

Post by bassistguy »

I have been using Mint Cinnamon as my main Distro since 2015, which coincides with my laptop I purchased at that time (HP EliteBook 8460p). Since my laptop purchase, I have installed every version of Mint Cinnamon starting with version 17. I have never had a problem with the installation process on this laptop. I even purchased an SSD about 3 years ago and had no issues installing Mint. I usually dual boot Mint and Ubuntu Studio. I had Mint Cinnamon 20.1 installed.

A few days ago, I realized I was running out of space on my home partition. So, I completely wiped my drive and created new partitions for Mint in order to allocate more space for my home partition. I downloaded Mint Cinnamon 20.2. I installed it and then proceeded to restart my laptop. Upon restart, I got the dreaded message "Boot Device Not Found". So, I decided to try re-installation... same message. What is messed up is I tried installing just Ubuntu Studio, as well as KDE Neon to see if I got the same message, and I did. I did multiple searches and almost every search result mentioned EFI / UEFI. This laptop is from 2011 or 2012. I have never had UEFI boot enabled (I can enable it, but I get a message saying it is experimental).

For troubleshooting, I tried enabling UEFI boot, but that did not work. I also tried grub-install from a live USB, and that didn't work. I also reset my BIOS to defaults with no luck. I also tried creating the partitions using GParted instead of via the Mint installation, no luck.

From the multiple searches I did, I ran across "gdisk". I just ran gdisk by itself to see if there was a GPT partition, and there is:

Partition table scan: