[Solved] share programs between windows 10 ltsc and linux mint

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
riccardoSardegna
Level 1
Level 1

[Solved] share programs between windows 10 ltsc and linux mint

Post by riccardoSardegna »

Hi guys i'm new here and i need help: my name is Riccardo, happy to meet you.
i have little experience with mint: i'll explain what i'd like to do.

I want to install mint with windows 10 and share some programs, specially matlab and similar stuff that i need for university and is really heavy on the ssd;
i explain why: Mint is faster and more stable, so i'd like to put most of my stuff there, like python for robotics, the problem is that stuff like CAD is only for windows and is really heavy, i need to do math on matlab and transfer on CAD, and my ssd is 480 gb, which is good, but with partition may be a problem to deal with space for both OS.

I thought of many solutions: install matlab on linux and transfer files in windows, pain in the ass, sorry but this language explains way better than everything.
Install some stuff on mint and some on windows: ok, but it would leave mint pretty much unused, would be really sad, i want to learn how to use it and the number of engineering programs for mint is small, and they usually need a lot of space, i'd have to leave mint for everything in windwos, just for some stuff. also having to double the files like pdfs of UNI just to study on both platforms.
Opensource engineering programs are not much used and i have to use Cad and similar. So another problem.

So i would like to make some folder that are readable in both OS, or/and some programs that re usable in both OS.
I guess this is not really possible, but i'd like to know your opinion
thks guys and girls :D :D
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.