Asus chromebook 311 mint only

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
guzzis3
Level 1
Level 1

Asus chromebook 311 mint only

Post by guzzis3 »

Ok, big deep breath.

Before I ask my question I need to explain something. I started using unix in about 1990. I did my first linux install, redhat 4.2 in (I think) the late 90's. I worked as a sys admin for some years, although I am really a mech eng.

The problem is I had a couple of strokes in 2020. I am part blind, can hardly read and have brain damage. I've spent weeks reading everything I can find but I'm confused and just don't have the confidence to take the next step. I'm sorry I need help.

I bought this chromebook as a small portable machine to slip in my bag just for browser and reading documents and maybe spreadsheets on the go. I thought if I didn't like chrome I'd blow it away and install linux. Easy right ? Well I didn't count on the obfuscated bios and weird booting...

I'm pretty sure I've got it in developer mode. I made a usb stick with mint 20.3 64bit and YUMI ?

But I don't know what to do next. There seem to be all sorts of variations on how to enable USB boot and install the OS.

I want to wipe chrome and just have mint. Once it's installed I'm going to try the various linux screen readers to see which work the best. They are really resource hungry so I'm planning to run xfce ?

Anyway could someone walk me through the next steps or point me to a resource that explains it simply ? I am totally confused about enabling the install and am scared of breaking stuff. I just don't have the capacity to fix it if it goes badly wrong.

PS I am in Brisbane Australia.

Thank you very much for reading.
Last edited by LockBot on Tue Feb 14, 2023 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
SMG