[SOLVED] Linux Mint 21 installed but not detected when booting

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
hyacinthmoons
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] Linux Mint 21 installed but not detected when booting

Post by hyacinthmoons »

Hello,

I'm new to Linux Mint but I've used Ubuntu before so I was confident enough to install Linux Mint 21 on my laptop (previously running on Windows 10) on my own. Obviously I made a mistake, haha. It worked fine until I restarted the laptop right after the installation was done. For some reason it seems like my laptop is trying to boot Windows still, but of course it doesn't work because Windows isn't installed anymore, and it doesn't detect Linux Mint. I've tried reinstalling (it did say Linux Mint was already installed when I did) but it didn't change anything.

The exact text on my screen when booting is the following:
Boot device not found
Please install an operating system on your hard disk
Hard disk - (3F0)
F2 System Diagnostics
For more information please visit : [link to HP support]
So, for now I have a laptop that I can't use at all. I don't even know how I managed to make it detect my USB drive with Linux Mint on it the second time. If anyone has an idea of what I could do to fix this, please let me know!

Oh, just in case that helps, my laptop is a HP ProBook 640.

Thank you in advance to anyone who tries to help and have a nice day.
Last edited by LockBot on Sat Mar 25, 2023 10:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
deepakdeshp
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Linux Mint 21 installed but not detected when booting

Post by deepakdeshp »

Please boot from live USB . Open in the menu system report -> system information -> click the copy button; paste in your next post.