Install alongside Windows 8.1 - Is it working?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
epdatmoc
Level 1
Level 1

Install alongside Windows 8.1 - Is it working?

Post by epdatmoc »

I'm completely new to Linux. I am trying to install Linux Mint on an old laptop. I chose to install along side Windows 8.1 and followed those steps. I got a message something to the effect that first the existing data on the drive would need to be rewritten and a warning that it could take a long time. I continued and the screen reverted to the screen where you choose to install alongside vs erase or something else and the continue button was greyed out. No indication of status or progress. It's been about 24 hours and I can't tell if the process is running or if it never started or has failed. Is there a way to check on what is happening?
Last edited by LockBot on Tue Apr 04, 2023 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Install alongside Windows 8.1 - Is it working?

Post by Cosmo. »

Your information is too short.

Which version of Mint?

Which program does give the described message?
epdatmoc
Level 1
Level 1

Post by epdatmoc »

linux mint 21 cinnamon

I am running the installer from the usb drive. Can't tell if anything is happening.
diabolicbg
Level 6
Level 6

Post by diabolicbg »

Until two days ago I used such an installation and it worked. If you want to keep Windows 8.1 select install together.
- You see, in this world there are two kinds of people, my friend, those with loaded guns, and those who dig. You dig. - "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly"

Behind every faulty computer there is a user who did nothing...
epdatmoc
Level 1
Level 1

Post by epdatmoc »