SWAP partition required??

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mzweili
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:53 pm

SWAP partition required??

Postby mzweili » Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:59 pm

I've got a brand new Laptop HP Pavilion dm3 with Windows 7 64bit pre-installed.
I added Mint Helena Main edition on dual boot. Grub installed on the Linux partition and using Easybcd as boot manager.
I didn't create a swap partition, but everything works fine.
The laptop has 4Gb of RAM.
I wonder if there is a need for a swap partition.
Marc

exploder
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6965
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA
Contact:

Re: SWAP partition required??

Postby exploder » Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:17 pm

You do not have to have a swap partition, it's a good idea but with 4 GB of RAM you should be fine as far as normal use goes.

User avatar
mick55
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1507
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: SWAP partition required??

Postby mick55 » Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:43 am

You don't need a swap partition unless you want to use suspend or
hibernate,in which case you need a swap partition at least as large
as the amount of RAM in your machine.
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FrankySev and 10 guests