Garbled screen on resume

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
bomanizer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:43 pm

Garbled screen on resume

Postby bomanizer » Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:05 pm

Hi,
after I resume from hibernate, I get this just before the password screen:

640x480-screen.jpg
640x480-screen.jpg (163.81 KiB) Viewed 1034 times


Ideas? I tried to fiddle with the video options in /etc/default/acpi-support, but nothing worked...

ghostgrrl
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:08 am

Re: Garbled screen on resume

Postby ghostgrrl » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:09 pm

Thank you! I get *exactly* the same thing --- most embarrassing when I'm around friends who're ooh'ing and aah'ing over my brand-new netbook that looks like it's broken.

If anyone can help resolve this issue, please let us know!

Edit: Specs from Gateway.com
Processor Intel® Atom™ Processor N4501 (1.66GHz, 677MHz FSB, 512KB L2 Cache)
Operating System Genuine Windows® 7 Starter, replaced with Linux 8 Helena (eventually will dual boot)
Display 10.1" WSVGA High Brightness LED-backlit Display (1024 x 600 resolution)
Memory 1024MB DDR2 667MHz SDRAM Single Channel Memory
Hard Drive 160GB SATA hard drive
Wireless Network 802.11b/g Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™, Card-1 Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
Card-2 Attansic Corp. Device 1062
Adapter AC Adapter
Battery 6-Cell Lithium Ion (4400mAh)
Chassis Chassis with Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 3150 and Mobile Intel® NM10 Express Chipset
External Ports (3) USB 2.0, VGA Connector
Keyboard and Mouse Keyboard with Multi-Gesture Touchpad
Media Card Reader Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader (Memory Stick®, Memory Stick Pro™, MultiMediaCard, Secure Digital™, xD-Picture Card™)
Network 10/100 Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 port)
Sound High-Definition Audio Support, Built-In speakers, Microphone, Headphone/Speaker/Line-Out Jack
Last edited by ghostgrrl on Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:01 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
eiver
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:51 am

Re: Garbled screen on resume

Postby eiver » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:26 pm

Looks like a graphics card driver bug to me. Can you both post your hardware specs?

bomanizer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: Garbled screen on resume

Postby bomanizer » Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:25 pm

T61 Thinkpad here, with an integrated Intel gfx card. I'm using the Intel driver that ships with Linux.

Code: Select all

$ inxi -F
System:    Host lauta Kernel 2.6.31-16-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint 8 Helena - x64 Edition
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo T7100 (SMP) cache 2048 KB flags (sse3 nx lm vmx) bmips 7183.2
           Clock Speeds: (1) 800.00 MHz (2) 1800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card Intel Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller X.Org 1.6.4 Res: 1280x800@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer Mesa DRI Intel 965GM GEM 20090712 2009Q2 RC3  GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.6 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller driver HDA Intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.20
Network:   Card-1 Intel 82566MM Gigabit Network Connection driver e1000e v: 1.0.2-k2 at port 1840
           Card-2 Intel PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Network Connection driver iwlagn v: 1.3.27k
Disks:     HDD Total Size: 370.1GB (63.3% used) 1: /dev/sda ST9120822AS 120.0GB
           2: /dev/sdb WDC WD2500BEVE-0 250.1GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 106G used: 51G (51%) fs: ext3 ID:swap-1 size: 1.02GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
           ID:swap-2 size: 4.92GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Info:      Processes 175 Uptime 9:36 Memory 882.0/3892.1MB Client Shell inxi 1.2.6


Code: Select all

$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82566MM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HBM (ICH8M-E) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Network Connection (rev 61)
15:00.0 CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev ba)
15:00.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 04)
15:00.2 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 21)
15:00.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller (rev ff)
15:00.4 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 11)
15:00.5 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 11)

bomanizer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: Garbled screen on resume

Postby bomanizer » Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:54 pm

ghostgrrl wrote:Chassis Chassis with Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 3150 and Mobile Intel® NM10 Express Chipset


Hmm, maybe the problem is indeed in the generic Intel driver that is loaded by default. I assume that you also haven't done any crazy kung-fu with your system? :)

ghostgrrl
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:08 am

Re: Garbled screen on resume

Postby ghostgrrl » Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:35 pm

bomanizer wrote:
ghostgrrl wrote:Chassis Chassis with Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 3150 and Mobile Intel® NM10 Express Chipset


Hmm, maybe the problem is indeed in the generic Intel driver that is loaded by default. I assume that you also haven't done any crazy kung-fu with your system? :)


Nah, I'm not too good at crazy kung fu. I did buy the book -- for Ubuntu, anyway (Ubuntu Kung Fu by Keir Thomas). :lol: But I haven't used it yet, only got it yesterday.

I tried loading Mint 7, which runs just fine on my Acer laptop, but that knocked out my wireless, so I went back to Helena. It's a clean install, as of last night, with almost nothing done to it - I downloaded some updates and LyX, that's it so far.

Interesting that I'm not the only one with this issue...and mine's on a brand-new netbook, so unless it's faulty it would seem a glitch in Mint 8.

bomanizer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: Garbled screen on resume

Postby bomanizer » Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:56 am

It's interesting to note, that your problem is with a clean install. My system was originally Mint 6, which I have dist-upgraded to Mint 7 and now Mint 8. My kung-fu involves not wanting to reinstall my apps :)

bomanizer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: Garbled screen on resume

Postby bomanizer » Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:21 pm

Hmm, it seems that on my machine this happens exclusively on resume from hibernation. Resume from suspend is ok.


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests