Invisible GRUB menu

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
thenewguy
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:29 pm

Invisible GRUB menu

Postby thenewguy » Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:31 pm

When I turn my laptop on, I got a very brief text message which, I think, says "Loading GRUB". The screen then goes black for about two seconds. Then I see the Linux Mint logo. I'm new to GRUB2, but I think my time-out is set for 10 seconds (I haven't modified GRUB's config at all). So I'm wondering why the GRUB menu is invisible. It's not an issue now, but I'd like to be able to see menu before a problem comes up. Any suggestions?

User avatar
gordon.cooke
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:48 pm
Location: New York

Re: Invisible GRUB menu

Postby gordon.cooke » Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:45 pm

Question- are you dual booting any other OS's (Windows, another distro) or is Mint the only thing on your computer?

If grub only detects one OS, then it will hide the Grub menu regardless of the 'hidden' setting.

To check your grub settings on this, navigate to /etc/default/ and open the file called grub (it will open read only this way)
One of the lines (probably the second) will read

Code: Select all

#GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0

With the '#' at the front it means the line is commented out and is ignored.
With the '#' the grub menu is set to display
Without the '#' the grub menu is set to not show for the amount of time specified (0 is no delay)

If you only have mint you'll probably find that the menu is actually set to show- I believe that is the default.

Let me know if this is not the case
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mint 13 64bit Cinnamon
Asus U56E Laptop, Core i5-2410M, Intel graphics, 6GB RAM
Mint 9 64bit
Averatec 2573 Laptop, AMD Turion 64x2, ATI Graphics, Atheros wireless, 3GB RAM

breaker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 609
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:28 am

Re: Invisible GRUB menu

Postby breaker » Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:27 am

Yes, or hold SHIFT at boot to show the menu.
rtfm - read the fine manual...
Boot info script: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1291280
grub2 https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2
PC-BIOS based booting, mbr, boot records; http://thestarman.pcministry.com/


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Derek_S, Flemur and 9 guests