Grub legacy installed and not Grub 2

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Deihmos
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:01 am

Grub legacy installed and not Grub 2

Postby Deihmos » Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:05 am

When I install Helena it installed Grub Legacy and not Grub 2. I am installing to a Raid0 bios raid and it works fine but I don't understand why I got Legacy. As a result I don't get that nice boot screen.

Anyone know why?

User avatar
Leppie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 447
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:54 pm

Re: Grub legacy installed and not Grub 2

Postby Leppie » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:19 am

this will happen when you do an upgrade.
in some occasions grub legacy will also install with a clean karmic (hence helena as well) install, this is a bug. you can always remove grub legacy and install grub2:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge grub grub-pc grub-common
sudo apt-get install grub-pc grub-common


hope this helps
Cleanflash: resolve your flash issues the easy way

Deihmos
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:01 am

Re: Grub legacy installed and not Grub 2

Postby Deihmos » Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:01 pm

I don't have any version of linux installed so it wasn't an upgrade. I will try that thanks.

User avatar
Leppie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 447
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:54 pm

Re: Grub legacy installed and not Grub 2

Postby Leppie » Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:11 pm

keep us posted.
Cleanflash: resolve your flash issues the easy way

Deihmos
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:01 am

Re: Grub legacy installed and not Grub 2

Postby Deihmos » Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:30 pm

Looks like when I install to the Raid0 array I get grub legacy but when I installed to my USB hard drive I got Grub 2. I cannot get Grub 2 installed on this drive either. I am going to install ubuntu to see if I have the same problem.

Ubuntu does the same thing. I guess I will stick with Grub Legacy.

User avatar
Leppie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 447
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:54 pm

Re: Grub legacy installed and not Grub 2

Postby Leppie » Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:57 pm

I'm very sorry, I missed the raid part the first time.
In order to install grub2 to a raid unit, you first need to preload the grub2 raid module.
open the grub defaults file with a text editor:

Code: Select all

gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub

add the following line at the end of the file:

Code: Select all

GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="raid"

save and exit the file, then re-install grub2 to the raid unit:

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda  ##change sda to the location of your raid0
Cleanflash: resolve your flash issues the easy way

Deihmos
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:01 am

Re: Grub legacy installed and not Grub 2

Postby Deihmos » Sat Feb 13, 2010 5:11 pm

None of them worked so I am sticking with grub legacy. One thing I realize though is that it takes a really long time to load. It takes like a minute before I see the splash screen.


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: all41, HugoNotte, JeremyB and 12 guests