Is there a way to boot HD installed Mint into RAM?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
TerminusEst
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:51 am

Is there a way to boot HD installed Mint into RAM?

Post by TerminusEst »

The title says it all: is there a way to boot an installed Mint system entirely into ram? I know we can do this from Live-CD, but I want to be able to do this in a normal install.

Thx in advance.
User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: Is there a way to boot HD installed Mint into RAM?

Post by RedWagon »

Not without some serious hacking...
You could customize a CD to be similar to your HD install and then boot that to RAM but it'd be hard to do updates and stuff like that.
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Is there a way to boot HD installed Mint into RAM?

Post by vincent »

Actually, this idea might have some merit. I'm thinking that a way to load Mint into RAM and run it solely with RAM à la Puppy Linux would speed up the performance of computers with sufficient RAM. This would be nice, but as of right now, I don't think it's possible.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”