When boot -> Kernel missing

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Mintnewbie
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

When boot -> Kernel missing

Postby Mintnewbie » Tue Oct 02, 2007 4:13 am

Hey,

I've just recently learned about Linux Mint. Uptil now I've been using Ubuntu. I've downloaded the ISO file and burned it on a cd. But when I boot to get to the grub and try to install, it says "Kernel missing". It doesn't even reach the grub. Then I can write commands from "root:".

I've tried downloading from other mirrors and burning other cd's, but it doesn't work. I've even tried on other machines.

Can anybody help?

Thanx :)

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Tue Oct 02, 2007 5:02 am

Welcome to Mint Mintnewbie :)
Frankly I don't understand.....
When you boot from a CD you never get to grub, I suppose you mean the boot menu of the Live CD
it says "Kernel missing". It doesn't even reach the grub. Then I can write commands from "root:".
Huh?
Could you describe what you do and the error messages you get because this makes no sense. You can end up in a "busy box" with both Cassandra/Celena and Feisty - is that it?
As always - check the md5sum (the command is md5sum) and burn at the slowest speed possible
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
Mintnewbie
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

I may have been hasty then

Postby Mintnewbie » Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:21 am

Hey,

I may have been hasty, I just thought that it loaded the grub menu when you boot with the cd for the first time.

Anyways, this is what happens:
1) I put the cd in the drive and boot the pc.
2) it boots from the cd and prompts this:

ISOLINUX 3.11 Debian 2006-03-16 copyright and so on...
Could not find kernel image: linux
boot:

Isn't it supposed to come up with a menu or something?

User avatar
Mintnewbie
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

ok... I'm just stupid

Postby Mintnewbie » Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:24 am

Hey again,

I just burned a new cd as slow as possible, and now it works, I reall feel stupid now. I'm really sorry that I have wasted your time.

I didn't think that such a thing could mean so much...

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:27 am

Obviously a lot of people think like you :)
Any CD/DVD even the best "printed" ones have thousands of errors, but also Error Correction Code (ECC) in about a third of the available space.
If produced "no good" the ECC is to small...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests