Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
yeolde777
Level 1
Level 1

dual boot win7, mint 10.Reinstalled win7 now no OS will boot

Post by yeolde777 » Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:48 pm

hi,

Im quite new to linux, but here is my problem. I have had win7 on this laptop, downloaded linux mint 10 julia and made a partition about 220 gb linux mint and 400 gb win7 roughly. This been wokring flawless for months, I have the linux boot up menu at start up, and linux mint usually start if I dont go down on the list and choose win7 loader.

Today I decided to go into win 7 and run my recovery cds since its been running slow lately. I chose to wipe all c drive, the 400 gb one with win7. No problems, installed it, it booted up couple times with linux boot menu, the partitions and linux swap was still there. Then I go into windows, it downloads information and drivers and i set the time and network, then when Im asked to restart, and when I do.. my pc just start restarting over and over again with few seconds in between. No boot menu, just f2 for setup.. I then put in a linux mint 10 cd, and now im booted on the cd, and I am not in my personal linux mint desktop environment.

I have added a screenshot of the partitions.. hope someone can help me, im stuck !

cheers guys

Bernie
Attachments
dual.png
dual.png (61.79 KiB) Viewed 1035 times

seeley
Level 7
Level 7

Re: dual boot win7, mint 10.Reinstalled win7 now no OS will

Post by seeley » Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:56 pm

Hi!
Please first read my help.
seeley

Edit:
Run "findGrub" and post the output - I suppose you only see "no Grub"; in my help there is a suggestion what to do.
seeley @ Linux multiboot

yeolde777
Level 1
Level 1

Post by yeolde777 » Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:03 pm

that made me bit unsure what part of it you refer to :) bit technical for me, could you specify? i cannot press c in boot menu, cause i dont get a boot menu, so neither linux or windows want to boot

edit, thanks ill try that

yeolde777
Level 1
Level 1