Linux Mint 4.0 Daryna -Internet not working

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
fs1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:36 pm

Linux Mint 4.0 Daryna -Internet not working

Postby fs1 » Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:24 am

Just installed Daryna using the iso I downloaded from this site. I've got XP on the same computer, and internet works there. In Mint I can't get on the internet. Ive got a router that's got three other windows computers connected to it, and they all have internet working also. In Mint I right clicked the network icon in the bottom right corner and got some information about ip numbers, dns etc, and they all seem good. It gets it ip through DHCP.

What can be wrong?

fs1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:36 pm

Postby fs1 » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:35 am

I can also see the computer name, ip and mac address in the client list in the router, when i connect to it from a windows machine. I can't connect to the router ip from the Mint though. Everything in Mint looks good to as far as I can tell. But no internet... I'm starting to give up.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:15 pm

It seems you have no name resolution.
This can be fixed by following the advice int this wiki
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... e_programs
Oddly I have to follow the advice to get internet for apt, ubiqity and mintUpdate, but not for Firefox and Thunderbird
However this
I can't connect to the router ip from the Mint
which I "took in" first after writing the answer above tells another story
What happens if you ping the router - you can ping from network tools in the control center or from the terminal
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

fs1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:36 pm

Postby fs1 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:32 am

Thanks for your reply!

When pinging the router in a terminal it says "The network is unreachable"

When pinging the router using network tools, nothing at all happens when I click the ping-button.

--
Rickard

User avatar
BakUp
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Minnesota USA

Postby BakUp » Sun Nov 18, 2007 10:50 am

I hope no one feels I am hijacking this theard, but what is pinging ?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sun Nov 18, 2007 1:34 pm

First - have you looked at your avatar and considered what it looks like :lol: :lol:
Ping - to send a small special IP package and wait for an answer - if you get an answer you know that there is a connection
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
BakUp
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Minnesota USA

Postby BakUp » Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:17 pm

Husse wrote:First - have you looked at your avatar and considered what it looks like

Now, wait a minute........tee hee ! Or is it a sideways #1 ?

Ping - to send a small special IP package and wait for an answer - if you get an answer you know that there is a connection

Thanks

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:40 pm

@ BakUp
If you point it about 45 degrees up..... :lol: :lol:
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fred Barclay, NickH301 and 8 guests