startup at run level 3

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
greghar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:39 pm

startup at run level 3

Postby greghar » Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:50 pm

Using Daryna KDE
Since this is using upstart how to you set like inittab to go to run level 3 at startup. I want change this a few times when I am testing. Also I know about the security but I will be installing and testing alot and I want to run as root login. This is using KDE 4 I think and cannot find the place to set to allow root login access. Do you use sudo passwd root and set password and then allow root login in KDE so I can then login as root. If you where. Thanks for any help. Greghar

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:46 am

I thought I answered you already - must have disappeared in Cyberspace :)
Yes you're right, only I think it's just sudo passwd but I've seen both methods mentioned. If you use passwd without sudo you set it for the current account
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

greghar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: startup at run level 3

Postby greghar » Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:29 pm

Hi
Any ideas about setting run level for upstart so I could set it to level 3 for startup. Thanks Greg

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: startup at run level 3

Postby Husse » Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:39 am

I did not think much about runlevel at first
In a Debian/Ubuntu system runlevels 2 - 5 are the same - see
http://www.debianadmin.com/debian-and-u ... evels.html
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

greghar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: startup at run level 3

Postby greghar » Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:25 pm

Run Level 3 is usually Text mode login. On most linux Dist. you use inittab to set this level if you want to boot to text login. Level 5 usually graphic mode. Mint\Ubuntu is using upstart now not inittab. Want to find out how to set run level there. Thanks Greghar

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: startup at run level 3

Postby Boo » Thu Nov 22, 2007 1:30 am

there are no run levels now only events. but legacy stuff is causing some confusion.
rc2-5 are really one event: system run (rc2 is the default the others are just copies).
but before that rcS is run which is a Startup event(s).

look in /etc/events.d/

check out: http://upstart.ubuntu.com/

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests