ATI laptop: Added "splash=0" on install...is that ok?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am
Contact:

ATI laptop: Added "splash=0" on install...is that ok?

Postby enchance » Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:17 am

On install I pressed F6 to edit my installation and replaced "quiet splash" with "splash=0" and I was able to install Daryna without any probs on my ATI laptop.I wanna know..was that ok? :)

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:25 am

OK it was OK :)
You managed to install....
Not that I know what it does, but it does no harm.
It did not work with quiet splash?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: ATI laptop: Added "splash=0" on install...is that ok?

Postby enchance » Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:15 pm

No, "quiet splash" didn't even get me as far as the installation GUI where you can select to install/safe graphics mode/1st hard disk--I'd get stuck in the usual white-text-black-background screeen. I had to experiment several times until finally getting it to run with "splash=0". It must have something to do with my ATI card.

It's a good thing it worked, too. A few more install failures and I would've opted to go back to gutsy.


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 10 guests