No init found. Try passing init=bootarg. SOLVED!

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
TangoVirtud
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 8:57 am

No init found. Try passing init=bootarg. SOLVED!

Post by TangoVirtud »

Hi!!! :lol:
I-ve recently installed LINUXmint 10 LXDE, and while I was trying to update firefox to 4, I followed instructions from this site, making a big mistake I guess, for it said it was for Ubuntu and derivates.

http://marcosbox.blogspot.com/2011/03/i ... 3319720946

This is the format I typed:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:mozillateam/firefox-stable

and then:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade

The thing is that it didn't update, and instead, terminal froze. I restarted, but O.S. didn't work, so I tried to restart again and I got this message:

No init found. Try passing init=bootarg.

Then, I restarted but boot from pendrive as to reinstall LM10, but when I pressed the Install CD logo, the wizard froze twice at the 2nd screen. Now I'running mint from the pen drive in preisntall mode.

Then, I tried to reinstall grub with the following format:

grub-install --recheck /dev/sda

but I got the following answer:

grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for /boot (is /dev mounted?).
/usr/sbin/grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for /boot/grub (is /dev mounted?).

What can it be?

I entered:

cat /boot/grub/device.map

and the response is:

cat: /boot/grub/device.map: No such file or directory

I typed then:

sudo grub-probe -vvv --target=device /boot/grub

The answer:

grub-probe: info: cannot open `/boot/grub/device.map'.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to /dev.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to v4l.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to by-path.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to by-id.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to snd.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to by-path.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to cpu.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to shm.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to dri.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to char.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to disk.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to by-label.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to by-uuid.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to by-path.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to by-id.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to block.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to pts.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to bsg.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to mapper.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to input.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to by-id.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to by-path.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to bus.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to usb.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to 005.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to 004.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to 003.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to 002.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to 001.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to net.
grub-probe: info: changing current directory to pktcdvd.
grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for /boot/grub (is /dev mounted?).


I don't know much and I-m lost. Please help me!!

-- :shock:
Last edited by TangoVirtud on Sun May 22, 2011 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Error after trying to update firefox. Dead computer.

Post by Habitual »

TangoVirtud wrote:"sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
The thing is that it didn't update, and instead, terminal froze."
Uh, never, EVER cancel an update in process. Even if appears 'frozen'.

As far as the broken nature of your install, someone else will chime in. Don't despair.
It can be fixed.

TangoVirtud
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 8:57 am

Re: Error after trying to update firefox. Dead computer.

Post by TangoVirtud »

Ok. Thank you for the advice.
Either way, I've solved it, even if I didn't find any solution on the web, so....
This is what I did.
I booted from the pendrive in pre intallation mode.
I signed myself in as root on the terminal:

sudo -s

I opened Synaptic Package Manager and surfed down to Grub2, chose to install it and it did.
After that, the installation wizard went through and I reinstalled the whole OS.
I don't know what could have happened if I didn't reinstall LM10, and just rebooted, maybe it would have started, but... my system installation was new and I didn't want to fix the mozilla problem again, so I just renewed it all up and done.

Thank you!!!!

Sergio :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: No init found. Try passing init=bootarg. SOLVED!

Post by Habitual »

Sergio:

+1 for fixing your own 'stuff'. You seem very resourceful.

Quite refreshing around here. :)

TangoVirtud
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 8:57 am

Re: No init found. Try passing init=bootarg. SOLVED!

Post by TangoVirtud »

Habitual wrote:Sergio:

+1 for fixing your own 'stuff'. You seem very resourceful.

Quite refreshing around here. :)
Thank you!!!
Well, I'm a bit handy with computers. I killed another AOA110 some months ago. I brought it back to life yesterday, and I'm just into Linux since two weeks ago when I was stolen my AOA150. I didn't know anything about Linux but it seems not very difficult.
Either way, now I've touched sth I shouldn't and I cant read ctc lists on Skype or reproduction lists on VLC. Evertything is white! I posted it so maybe I'll fix it on my own or I'll get sb to help me with that other problem.
=)
Anyways, I'm happy with Linux. Blessings!!!

Post Reply

Return to “Installation & Boot”