Missing microcode message and screen problem

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
SusieK
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Near Poitiers, south-west France
Contact:

Missing microcode message and screen problem

Postby SusieK » Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:49 am

Hello from a very newbie to Linux

I have downloaded Linux Mint twice, and also bought a "ready made" live CD, but am having the same problem each time I try to run the CD.

It goes through the process for a moment, then a black screen appears with a message, which disappears too quickly for me to read it all, but it is something to do with a missing microcode, and a failure. That's all I have time to read. The CD continues to load, with a lot of grumbling, and eventually Linux Mint opens and the desktop looks OK. However, whenever I click to open an application, the heading of the application is in an enormous font which cannot fit into its panel.

I have an Acer Aspire 3610 notebook, running Windows XP, a Celeron 1.50GHz processor, and 504 MB of RAM.

Thanks very much for any suggestions.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Missing microcode message and screen problem

Postby Husse » Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:01 am

The microcode message can be "bad" - or not :)
Can you tell us what wifi chip it has - it's hopeless to search for this on the net - to many variations for each model.
This is the live CD - you have not installed?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

SusieK
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Near Poitiers, south-west France
Contact:

Re: Missing microcode message and screen problem

Postby SusieK » Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:30 am

It's the live CD I am talking about. I don't want to try and install it if there is something wrong.

Would Broadcomm BCM94318MPG be the wifi chip? That is the on label underneath my computer. If not, where else can I look for the information. Sorry, I am very much a novice. :oops:

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Missing microcode message and screen problem

Postby Husse » Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:59 pm

You are right
the command ls in a terminal is very useful - it LiSts
lspci, lsusb even lspcmcia exists and tells you what's connected to these buses
But I have to say damn, you have a bcmxxx and we've had someone else with your problem
Search for microcode in the forum and see if any of these posts help you (and yes it seems I'm in everyone of these threads :))
I have a bad cold so I'm not thinking with more than 50% now :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

SusieK
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Near Poitiers, south-west France
Contact:

Re: Missing microcode message and screen problem

Postby SusieK » Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:31 am

Thank you for your help, and I hope the cold is better soon. :)

I'm not feeling too good either. :cry:

I will go through all the "microcode" threads and see if I can find out more about the problem.

When you say a terminal, I suppose that has to be run in a Linux system - which I don't yet have, because I can't load it.:cry:

Or is there something similar in Windows that I don't know about?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Missing microcode message and screen problem

Postby Husse » Fri Dec 21, 2007 9:33 am

My bad - a cold is not a severe disease but your head gets "thick"
Of course lspci is in Linux
Check the device manager, but we already know the chip so I don't think it's necessary.
And I realize now that it is a bcm 4318 - the 9 confused me
It should be possible to get working by following the wiki
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... adcom_43xx
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

SusieK
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Near Poitiers, south-west France
Contact:

Re: Missing microcode message and screen problem

Postby SusieK » Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:58 am

Thanks, I will do that once I've finished the dreaded Christmas shopping and preparations.


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tqoitc and 8 guests