Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
tomween1
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] Trouble changing from Ubuntu 11.10 to Mint 12

Post by tomween1 » Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:47 am

I need to preface everything by mentioning I am a noob, at best when it comes to computers. I started a post regarding partition issues but feel that's not the complete issue. So I need further help.

Simply put, I have a laptop set as dual boot Win7/Ubuntu11.10 (32bit) I have nothing to keep from the Ubuntu install. I simply do not care for Ubuntu 11.10. I have played around w/ Mint12 and would like to install it, replacing the Ubuntu os w/ LM12 os.

So here's what I see from LM12 (when using the disk)

I realize I need to delete dev/sda5, dev/sda6 and dev/sda7.... From this point I am lost. I did notice (while trying to install M12) that the disk space was to low for install and it gave me the option to correct the partition size. That's when It opened to the pic above.... and where I was lost
Last edited by tomween1 on Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mank_in
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Trouble changing from Ubuntu 11.10 to Mint 12

Post by mank_in » Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:57 am

I think yours sda 5 ,6 ,7 all combine is not much.
I am usually use about 15-20 GB for Mint in My Hard drive.
If you do not want more free space :
- delete sda 5, 6 ,7 and you have 1 free partition
- create one ext4 partition (you can use entirely free partition, but i recommended to reserve at least 512Mb for swap) , set mount point / , check at format? (format that ext4 partition )
- create swap partition for reserved free partition
Hope this will help you :)

Foz
Level 1
Level 1

Post by Foz » Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:02 pm

A bit sticky this one, but just about doable.