linuxmint doesnt load new machine

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
yayo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 3:02 pm

linuxmint doesnt load new machine

Postby yayo » Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:31 am

First time user looking to load mint for the fist time on new machine doul core amd6400 4g ram 160g hard drive have tried to download but with no joy. can any one help me.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: linuxmint doesnt load new machine

Postby Husse » Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:35 am

Well we can help you if you tell us what the problem is, not just that you have a problem
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: linuxmint doesnt load new machine

Postby MagnusB » Sat Mar 01, 2008 4:46 pm

1. Download the iso from http://www.linuxmint.com/download.php
2. (optional) Verify the md5sum with Nullriver WinMD5Sum: http://www.nullriver.com/products/winmd5sum (it should be: 572a56ec165ef6ad8f785cc7f13a5a14)
3. Burn out the ISO with InfraRecorder (windows app): http://infrarecorder.sourceforge.net/ Open InfraRecorder, select Burn image from Options menu (I think).
4. Make sure the CD is inserted and reboot. Follow the instruction on screen.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin

yayo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 3:02 pm

Re: linuxmint doesnt load new machine

Postby yayo » Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:56 pm

yayo wrote:First time user looking to load mint for the fist time on new machine doul core amd6400 4g ram 160g hard drive have tried to download but with no joy. can any one help me.


Thank you for the replies i just purchased a live disk on line and supported the the forum

But i have a new task to copy my hard drive to my usb storage disk i think you us dd new to linux need the beginers steps tryed to copy but error I/o hard disk is running fine. looking to copy the disk and setup backup hard drive for miror drive.


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], MSNbot Media and 9 guests