(solved) I can not update GSmartControl

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Pati
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 pm
Location: Poland

(solved) I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pati » Mon Feb 04, 2019 2:09 pm

I have installed GSmartControl. One of my disks (Adata SX8200) is shown as "unknown model". I wanted to update GSmartControl, so first it wrote that Xterm is missing. I installed Xterm, and now it says that:

Code: Select all

 bash: update-smart-drivedb:
command is not found.

Can anyone please help with this? How to update GSmartControl?
Last edited by Pati on Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Mint 19.1 XFCE

Pippin
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:14 am
Location: NL/DE/TH

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pippin » Mon Feb 04, 2019 2:17 pm

Hi,

I use this method,

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh -e

cd /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb

mv drivedb.h drivedb.bak

wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/mirror/smartmontools/master/drivedb.h

exit 0
Above code in script gsmartupdate.sh
"I'm not in this world to live up your expectations, neither are you here to live up to mine.”
F.P. & P.T.

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7926
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by phd21 » Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:29 pm

Hi Pati,

I just read your post and the good replies to it. Here are my thoughts on this as well.

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" from the console terminal prompt, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information.

+1 for updating the drive database. You can also submit your drive's profile to them. I have a couple SSDrives that still do not show up as in their database even though I submitted their profiles a long time ago. gsmartcontrol and the related smartmon-tools (smartctl) apps still work with the drives.

I also noticed that most apps report the wrong temperature on SSDrives (SCT temperature commands not supported), but hddtemp reports the correct temperature.

hddtemp

Code: Select all

sudo hddtemp /dev/sda
For Fahrenheit.

Code: Select all

sudo hddtemp /dev/sda -uf
To run the hddtemp without sudo run the command below

Code: Select all

sudo chmod +s /usr/sbin/hddtemp
Previous post:
GSmartControl not working - Linux Mint Forums
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=277195&hilit=gsmartcontrol


Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
Pati
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 pm
Location: Poland

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pati » Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:28 am

Pippin wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 2:17 pm
Hi,

I use this method,

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh -e

cd /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb

mv drivedb.h drivedb.bak

wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/mirror/smartmontools/master/drivedb.h

exit 0
Above code in script gsmartupdate.sh
I created gsmartupdate.sh, did chmod +x with this script, run it:

Code: Select all

--2019-02-05 12:34:35--  https://raw.githubusercontent.com/mirror/smartmontools/master/drivedb.h
Translacja raw.githubusercontent.com (raw.githubusercontent.com)... 151.101.12.133
Łączenie się z raw.githubusercontent.com (raw.githubusercontent.com)|151.101.12.133|:443... połączono.
Żądanie HTTP wysłano, oczekiwanie na odpowiedź... 200 OK
Długość: 191464 (187K) [text/plain]
Zapis do: `drivedb.h'

drivedb.h           100%[===================>] 186,98K  --.-KB/s    w 0,09s    

2019-02-05 12:34:35 (2,02 MB/s) - zapisano `drivedb.h' [191464/191464]
But still, this ADATA is unknown in GSmart :( It is NVMe ssd, maybe this is the problem? Other two disks: small Goodram 60GB SATA ssd and 10 years old Samsung hdd are recognized correctly. In 'disks" program, two others are also recognized and it says "disk is ok" by each one, ADATA has only name but no info if it is ok or not.
phd21 wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:29 pm
It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" from the console terminal prompt,
Here are the results:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: komp Kernel: 4.15.0-45-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 
           Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASRock model: AB350 Gaming K4 serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends v: P5.40 
           date: 12/19/2018 
CPU:       Topology: 6-Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen+ rev: 2 L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 81440 
           Speed: 1379 MHz min/max: 1550/3400 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1378 2: 1430 3: 1380 4: 1379 5: 1376 6: 1381 7: 1376 
           8: 1382 9: 1406 10: 1543 11: 1547 12: 1545 
Graphics:  Device-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480] vendor: PC Partner Limited driver: amdgpu 
           v: kernel bus ID: 26:00.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: amdgpu,ati unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,radeon,vesa 
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon RX 470 Graphics (POLARIS10 DRM 3.23.0 4.15.0-45-generic LLVM 7.0.0) v: 4.5 Mesa 18.2.2 
           direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere [Radeon RX 580] vendor: PC Partner Limited 
           driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 26:00.1 
           Device-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 17h HD Audio vendor: ASRock driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 28:00.3 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-45-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: ASRock driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI 
           port: d000 bus ID: 25:00.0 
           IF: enp37s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 512.36 GiB used: 184.39 GiB (36.0%) 
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: A-Data model: SX8200NP size: 223.57 GiB 
           ID-2: /dev/sda model: IR-SSDPR-S25A-60 size: 55.90 GiB temp: 33 C 
           ID-3: /dev/sdb vendor: Samsung model: HD252HJ size: 232.89 GiB temp: 25 C 
           Optical-1: /dev/sr0 vendor: ATAPI model: iHAS124 E rev: 4L08 dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw 
           Features: speed: 48 multisession: yes audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 50.51 GiB used: 12.15 GiB (24.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3 
           ID-2: /home size: 219.06 GiB used: 78.91 GiB (36.0%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 37.8 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 36 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: amdgpu fan: 683 
Info:      Processes: 292 Uptime: 37m Memory: 15.66 GiB used: 1.85 GiB (11.8%) Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 
           Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 inxi: 3.0.27 

Code: Select all

Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 09da:f613 A4Tech Co., Ltd. 
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 1a2c:2124 China Resource Semico Co., Ltd 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
phd21
Thank you for the info about hddtmp. My Goodram ssd is shown in GSmart with temperature 99 Celsius, with hddtemp it shows about 30 Celsius. :)


Well, I tried this

Code: Select all

sudo smartctl -A -H /dev/nvme0n1p1
So I had a result:

Code: Select all

smartctl 6.6 2016-05-31 r4324 [x86_64-linux-4.15.0-45-generic] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-16, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org

=== START OF SMART DATA SECTION ===
SMART overall-health self-assessment test result: PASSED

SMART/Health Information (NVMe Log 0x02, NSID 0x1)
Critical Warning:                   0x00
Temperature:                        28 Celsius
Available Spare:                    100%
Available Spare Threshold:          10%
Percentage Used:                    0%
Data Units Read:                    544 801 [278 GB]
Data Units Written:                 749 566 [383 GB]
Host Read Commands:                 5 720 222
Host Write Commands:                3 444 167
Controller Busy Time:               84
Power Cycles:                       73
Power On Hours:                     196
Unsafe Shutdowns:                   1
Media and Data Integrity Errors:    0
Error Information Log Entries:      0
Warning  Comp. Temperature Time:    1
Critical Comp. Temperature Time:    0
Too bad I cannot see it with GSmartControl, I prefer GUI :D
Linux Mint 19.1 XFCE

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7926
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by phd21 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:25 am

Hi Pati,

You are welcome...

1. You have to move the newly downloaded smartmon drive database where it belongs, then change permission.

Open a console terminal, type in, or copy & paste, each line below one by one: Click "Select All" above command, right click the highlighted command, select Copy (or Ctrl+Insert), click in the console terminal window, and right click paste ("Shift+Insert" or "Ctrl+Shift+v"), repeat for each command.

Code: Select all

sudo mv drivedb.h /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb/

Code: Select all

sudo chown -c root:root /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb/drivedb.h
Here is my "smartmon-update.sh" script file for updating the smartmon drive database which anyone can use and run many times to update the smartmon drive database whenever they want to.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
#
# Update the smartmon database
#
echo
clear
echo Current smartmon database date
echo
ls -l /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb
echo
echo
echo Updating the smartmon database
echo
echo
#
rm drivedb.h
wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/mirror/smartmontools/master/drivedb.h
sudo mv /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb/drivedb.h /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb/drivedb.h.old
sudo mv drivedb.h /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb/
sudo chown -c root:root /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb/drivedb.h
echo
echo Finished updating the smartmon database
echo
echo
ls -l /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb
echo

To run this script from a console terminal prompt:

Code: Select all

bash smartmon-update.sh
or

Code: Select all

./smartmon-update.sh
My results from running the drive update script today

Code: Select all

ls -l /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb
-rw-rw-r-- 1 root root 191464 Feb 5 10:17 drivedb.h
-rw-rw-r-- 1 root root 191464 Feb 4 14:19 drivedb.h.old


2. Does gsmartcontrol come up on your system? If so, what version is it? Can we please see a screenshot. I do not know if updating the actual gsmartcontrol application may help, but my link to a previous post has instructions on that.
Pati's drives wrote:Drives:
ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: A-Data model: SX8200NP size: 223.57 GiB
ID-2: /dev/sda model: IR-SSDPR-S25A-60 size: 55.90 GiB temp: 33 C
ID-3: /dev/sdb vendor: Samsung model: HD252HJ size: 232.89 GiB temp: 25 C
3.
Pati wrote:It is NVMe ssd, maybe this is the problem?
It might be a problem, I do not know. I am using the same version of smartmontools as you have.

NVMe_Support – smartmontools
https://www.smartmontools.org/wiki/NVMe_Support


Hope this helps ...
Last edited by phd21 on Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

Pippin
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:14 am
Location: NL/DE/TH

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pippin » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:36 am

@phd21
Did you look at my script?
The database is already where it belongs ;)
Running script as root and good to go, did not mention that.

Could be that the NVMe SSD is not in the database...
"I'm not in this world to live up your expectations, neither are you here to live up to mine.”
F.P. & P.T.

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7926
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by phd21 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:49 am

Hi Pippin,

I was just responding to their comments without re-reading your script, my bad. You changed directory folders to the correct destination before downloading the new database file which should work too.

According to smartmon developers, they do have some NVMe SSD support - see my last link.

There is a new smartmon tools version 7, but I do not know if that would make a difference with this, or if that could be installed in Linux Mint 19.x (Ubuntu 18.04). I am about to try compiling it to see if it will compile and install on Ubuntu 18.04. But, I do not have one of these NVMe SSDrives nor can my ancient computer use them (no slot).

S.M.A.R.T. Monitoring Tools - Browse /smartmontools at SourceForge.net
https://sourceforge.net/projects/smartm ... tmontools/
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7926
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by phd21 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:06 pm

Hi Pati and Pippin, etc...

I was able to compile and install the new smartmon tools v7 on my Linux KDE Neon system based on Ubuntu 18.04. like Linux Mint 19.x. I had to restart my computer for this to take effect.

It showed an interesting comment during the process.
configure: WARNING:
The default for the inclusion of NVME devices in smartd.conf
'DEVICESCAN' and 'smartctl --scan' has been changed to 'yes' on
this platform. If '--without-nvme-devicescan' is still needed,
please inform smartmontools-support@listi.jpberlin.de.
So, maybe the previous version 6.6 of the smartmon tools (smartctl) has to be run with a NVME scan command flag and maybe installing the newer version 7 would help. Update: The update database feature of gsmartcontrol (v1.1.3) might now be working after installing the version 7 of smartmon tools, but the update scripts work well.
smartctl -V
smartctl 7.0 2018-12-30 r4883 [x86_64-linux-4.18.16-041816-generic] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-18, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org

smartctl comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free
software, and you are welcome to redistribute it under
the terms of the GNU General Public License; either
version 2, or (at your option) any later version.
See http://www.gnu.org for further details.

smartmontools release 7.0 dated 2018-12-30 at 14:47:55 UTC
smartmontools SVN rev 4883 dated 2018-12-30 at 14:48:54
smartmontools build host: x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
smartmontools build with: C++14, GCC 7.3.0
smartmontools configure arguments: [no arguments given]
Hope this helps ....
.
gsmartcontrol-1.jpg
gsmartcontrol
.
gsmartcontrol-2.jpg
gsmartcontrol
Last edited by phd21 on Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
Pati
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 pm
Location: Poland

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pati » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:20 pm

phd21 wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:25 am

2. Does gsmartcontrol come up on your system? If so, what version is it? Can we please see a screenshot.
It is 1.1.3, I installed it from Software Manager
Image
Pippin wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:36 am
Running script as root and good to go, did not mention that.
Yes, I did it with sudo, there was a progress bar, looks like it is updated.
phd21 wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:06 pm
Update: The update database feature of gsmartcontrol (v1.1.3) now seems to work after installing the version 7 of smartmon tools.
So, I'll wait for Mint updates for a new smartmon tools :)
Linux Mint 19.1 XFCE

Pippin
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:14 am
Location: NL/DE/TH

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pippin » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:50 pm

The drives are stored in the database.
You'll have to wait till someone adds it or (try) do that yourself:
https://www.smartmontools.org/wiki/FAQ# ... lsDatabase
"I'm not in this world to live up your expectations, neither are you here to live up to mine.”
F.P. & P.T.

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7926
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by phd21 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 2:37 pm

Hi Pati,

From your picture gsmartcontrol is showing the NVME SSDrive. Does it also show information when you double-click it? If yes, please provide us a screenshot of that.

Updating the smartmon drive database is a good idea. I do that at least a couple times a month. In my other link are other links describing how anyone can send their drive's information to the smartmon developers and drive database maintainers which help them and users keep the database up to date. Then, perhaps in a little while your NVME drive and other peoples drives will show the model name instead of unknown model.
Pati wrote:So, I'll wait for Mint updates for a new smartmon tools :)
That could be a long time before smartmon-tools version 7 shows up in the Mint or Ubuntu repositories (Software Manager or Synaptic Package Manager (SPM)).

It was actually pretty easy and fast to compile and install the new version of smartmon tools v7 unlike with some other software.
How to compile smartmon tools wrote:Step 1: Just download the v7 smartmon tools archive file (smartmontools-7.0.tar.gz), save that into your Downloads folder.
download link below
https://sourceforge.net/projects/smartm ... z/download

Step 2: Right-click the archive file and extract here and go into that "smartmontools-7.0" folder

Step 3: Open a console terminal in that folder "/Downloads/smartmontools-7.0" which can be done from the file manager or manually using

Code: Select all

cd ~/Downloads/smartmontools-7.0
To run any of the console terminal commands below open a console terminal, type in, or copy & paste, each line below one by one: Click "Select All" above command, right-click the highlighted command, select Copy (or Ctrl+Insert), click in the console terminal window, and right click paste ("Shift+Insert" or "Ctrl+Shift+v"), repeat for each command.

Step 4: Install the software tools for compiling software from source code using the command below.

Code: Select all

sudo apt install -y build-essential cmake cmake-extras extra-cmake-modules git curl wget  checkinstall autogen ccache
Step 5: Run these typical commands to compile and install software, in this case the smartmon tools software:

Code: Select all

./configure

Code: Select all

make

Code: Select all

sudo make install
Step 6: Exit the console terminal window, and restart your computer or at least logout and back in, and check to see if it is the new version

Code: Select all

smartctl -V
Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
Pati
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 pm
Location: Poland

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pati » Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:40 am

I updated smartmontools.
GSmart updated its database, now it says that base is up to date.
phd21 wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 2:37 pm
Does it also show information when you double-click it?
No, it says "No additional information is available for this drive".
And when I click "show output", I have only this:

Code: Select all

smartctl 7.0 2018-12-30 r4883 [x86_64-linux-4.15.0-45-generic] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-18, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org

=== START OF INFORMATION SECTION ===
Model Number:                       ADATA SX8200NP
Serial Number:                      *******************
Firmware Version:                   SVN139B
PCI Vendor/Subsystem ID:            0x126f
IEEE OUI Identifier:                0x000000
Controller ID:                      1
Number of Namespaces:               1
Namespace 1 Size/Capacity:          240,057,409,536 [240 GB]
Namespace 1 Formatted LBA Size:     512
Local Time is:                      Sat Feb  9 11:06:25 2019 CET
Firmware Updates (0x14):            2 Slots, no Reset required
Optional Admin Commands (0x0016):   Format Frmw_DL Self_Test
Optional NVM Commands (0x005f):     Comp Wr_Unc DS_Mngmt Wr_Zero Sav/Sel_Feat Timestmp
Maximum Data Transfer Size:         64 Pages
Warning  Comp. Temp. Threshold:     70 Celsius
Critical Comp. Temp. Threshold:     80 Celsius

Supported Power States
St Op     Max   Active     Idle   RL RT WL WT  Ent_Lat  Ex_Lat
 0 +     9.00W       -        -    0  0  0  0        0       0
 1 +     4.60W       -        -    1  1  1  1        0       0
 2 +     3.80W       -        -    2  2  2  2        0       0
 3 -   0.0450W       -        -    3  3  3  3     2000    2000
 4 -   0.0040W       -        -    4  4  4  4     6000    8000

Supported LBA Sizes (NSID 0x1)
Id Fmt  Data  Metadt  Rel_Perf
 0 +     512       0         0

=== START OF SMART DATA SECTION ===
SMART overall-health self-assessment test result: PASSED
My Adata ssd is still "unknown" for GSmart. But GSmart finally updates its database, thank you very much for help. I think that for Adata ssd I will be using smartctl -A command to have basic SMART informations. :)

Code: Select all

sudo smartctl -A /dev/nvme0n1
smartctl 7.0 2018-12-30 r4883 [x86_64-linux-4.15.0-45-generic] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-18, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org

=== START OF SMART DATA SECTION ===
SMART/Health Information (NVMe Log 0x02)
Critical Warning:                   0x00
Temperature:                        27 Celsius
Available Spare:                    100%
Available Spare Threshold:          10%
Percentage Used:                    0%
Data Units Read:                    555 552 [284 GB]
Data Units Written:                 767 406 [392 GB]
Host Read Commands:                 6 438 408
Host Write Commands:                3 597 711
Controller Busy Time:               96
Power Cycles:                       82
Power On Hours:                     222
Unsafe Shutdowns:                   2
Media and Data Integrity Errors:    0
Error Information Log Entries:      0
Warning  Comp. Temperature Time:    1
Critical Comp. Temperature Time:    0
Thermal Temp. 1 Transition Count:   9
Thermal Temp. 1 Total Time:         474
Linux Mint 19.1 XFCE

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7926
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by phd21 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:08 am

Hi Pati,

You are welcome...

That's good you were able to update the smartmon tools.

gsmartcontrol should also show you the information on this drive. I still cannot tell whether gsmartcontrol is updating the drive database correctly or not even though it claims it does because when I run the command below, the drive database dates did not change? But, everyone can still use one of the scripts or each command to update that if need be.

Code: Select all

ls -l /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
Pati
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 pm
Location: Poland

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pati » Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:11 pm

I tried this command:

Code: Select all

ls -l /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb
and here is what I have:

Code: Select all

ls -l /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb
razem 384
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 191464 lut  5 12:34 drivedb.bak
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 191464 lut  9 11:05 drivedb.h
I did update on 9th Feb.
Linux Mint 19.1 XFCE

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7926
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by phd21 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:28 pm

Hi Pati,

I would recommend running one of the script update drive database options although you have the "drivedb.h" file from when you updated it.

ls -l /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb
total 384
-rw-rw-r-- 1 root root 191464 Feb 11 13:26 drivedb.h
-rw-rw-r-- 1 root root 191464 Feb 4 14:19 drivedb.h.old

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
Pati
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 pm
Location: Poland

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pati » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:02 pm

ok, I run script written by Pippin as I have it already prepared.

Result:

Code: Select all

ls -l /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb
razem 384
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 191464 lut 12 20:53 drivedb.bak
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 191464 lut 13 17:56 drivedb.h
Linux Mint 19.1 XFCE

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7926
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by phd21 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:23 pm

Hi Pati,

Well, that drive update script is obviously working since the "drivedb.h" file shows it has been updated.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

Pippin
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:14 am
Location: NL/DE/TH

Re: I can not update GSmartControl

Post by Pippin » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:34 pm

The script first renames the db file, then downloads the new db file.
If it didn't, the new db file would not be present.

Look at the date and timestamps after two updates done after one another:

Code: Select all

# ls -ahl /var/lib/smartmontools/drivedb
total 384K
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4,0K Feb 13 18:31 .
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4,0K Feb 13 18:21 ..
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 187K Feb 13 18:27 drivedb.bak
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 187K Feb 13 18:31 drivedb.h
Edit:
cross post, phd21 is convinced :)
"I'm not in this world to live up your expectations, neither are you here to live up to mine.”
F.P. & P.T.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”