Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
pcfan5
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 529
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Argentina

Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by pcfan5 »

Trying to install an updated and clean version of winehq, I did "sudo apt autoremove", and in the next step as soon as I did "sudo apt install winehg" I started to see in the console how different programs and dependencies started to be uninstalled from my system. After that I to install them again manually.
Currently the problem is that pulseaudio does not run automatically at startup. I must type "pulsaudio" in the console and then manually in "volume control" -configuration, choose "stereo analog duplex" at each opportunity.

I pass the info of my system, but I don't know what order to execute to show you more info about this component.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fnz
 Kernel: 5.4.0-124-generic x86_64 bits: 64 
  Desktop: Xfce 4.14.1 Distro: Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: BANGHO product: MOV v: MODEL_EQUIP serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: BANGHO model: MOV v: D02A serial: <filter> BIOS: American Megatrends 
  v: 1.01.15RPCD1 date: 07/11/2012 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 46.9 Wh condition: 46.9/48.8 Wh (96%) 
CPU:
  Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5-2450M bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
  Speed: 815 MHz min/max: 800/3100 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 798 2: 798 
  3: 798 4: 798 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics 
  driver: i915 v: kernel 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1360x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 3000 (SNB GT2) 
  v: 3.3 Mesa 20.0.8 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio 
  driver: snd_hda_intel 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-124-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter driver: rtl8192ce 
  IF: wlp2s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: JMicron JMC250 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet driver: jme 
  IF: enp3s0f0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 465.76 GiB used: 381.01 GiB (81.8%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Crucial model: CT500MX500SSD1 size: 465.76 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 27.39 GiB used: 17.91 GiB (65.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
  ID-2: /home size: 430.32 GiB used: 363.10 GiB (84.4%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/sda4 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 47.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 202 Uptime: 1h 30m Memory: 7.68 GiB used: 2.46 GiB (32.1%) 
  Shell: bash inxi: 3.0.32 

Code: Select all

$ pulseaudio
E: [pulseaudio] bluez5-util.c: GetManagedObjects() failed: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.
system startup is set like this:
pulseaudiostartup.png
User avatar
rossdv8
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1377
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:48 am
Location: Within 2,000 kilometres of Alice Springs, Australia
Contact:

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by rossdv8 »

This might not solve your problem - but it is worth a try.

Open 'Session and Startup'
Click the 'Application Autostart' Tab
Scrolll down until you get to the 'Ps'
Find any entries for Pulse
Make sure the following are checked:
[x] PulseAudio Sound System (Starts the PulseAudio Sound System)
[x] PulseAudio System Tray (assuming you have installed that panel Applet)
[x] PulseAudio Volume Control (you should have done sudo apt install pavucontrol soon after installing Mint)

If you have PulseEffects and PulseEffects-Audio, you could probably make sure they are loaded as well if you want to use them.

Of course, if the PulseAudio items already have a checkmark next to them - your problem is somewhere else..
Current main OS: MInt 21 'Vanessa' Xfce on Lenovo m93p Tiny, i5-4590T (i915 graphics), 8GB RAM.
You can get by on Charm for about 15 minutes
User avatar
pcfan5
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 529
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Argentina

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by pcfan5 »

thank you very much for your reply!. It 's been a while and I had to install LM 20 again. Nowdays I don't have that problem any more... but instead have some de-codification issues specially for listening HDCD flac tracks. which another story.
After this new installation, All my settings are like you said, (they were like this when I posted my question) but this time I didn't install "pavucontrol", but I got the tray icon maybe it got installed with another thing.
User avatar
rossdv8
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1377
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:48 am
Location: Within 2,000 kilometres of Alice Springs, Australia
Contact:

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by rossdv8 »

If you stil haven't done it, and are still having a problem with PulseAudio starting, it might be worth doing:
sudo apt install pavucontrol

There are some settings that will show up there when you run it, that are quite useful.

For example, if, as you say, the other settings for PulseAudio in Application Autostart are all [x] checked, then pulse should be running.
You can check that in your system monitor, or at the command line.
I have seen situations where pulseaudio is running, but there is no sound, and it seems as if it is NOT running.
pavucontrol has a lot of settings for various outputs. Including things like directing output to your 3.5mm headphone jack, or your HDMI ports, or even, in my case, to a surround sound mixer vis USB.

From time to time I will open my system and it had decided it wants to direct output somewhere other than where I have it set.
Yesterday, after being given the 'silent treatment' I checked all the outputs, but it was set to where I had left it. Then I noticed that the output I had selected had the 'Mute' button selected! As soon as I clicked it - I got live noise again. I had not muted the thing - it just decided I didn't need sound that day.

Anyway, as usual - this might not solve your problem - but it might give you somewhere to look before you go digging around trying to change config files.

Oh, before I forget. If you ever install PulseEffects, you will not only have a whole new world of extra stuff to play with, like Equalizers, and Surround settings etc - but a corresponding maze of stuff to check when sound is doing weird thing.
That said - I like playing with Pulse (including pulseeffects).
Current main OS: MInt 21 'Vanessa' Xfce on Lenovo m93p Tiny, i5-4590T (i915 graphics), 8GB RAM.
You can get by on Charm for about 15 minutes
Theoharis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:10 am

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by Theoharis »

Hello!
I have exactly the same problem, so I thought I'd post here, since this is a very recent thread.

I just upgraded to Linux Mint 21 Vanessa, 64-bit, hoping to resolve the problem with PulseAudio not running at system startup in 20.3, but it still persists. It is random: sometimes it runs, sometimes it does not.

Following the advice of rossdv8, I looked into the 'Session and Startup'. There is only Pulseaudio Volume Control which I have checked. PulseAudio Sound System and PulseAudio System Tray are not there.

Now that I've restarted, the Volume Control has launched, with the message "Establishing connection to PulseAudio. Please wait..." - and nothing happens.

When also trying to launch a virtual machine, I get the following "non-fatal problem": "Host audio backend (PulseAudio) initialization has failed. Selecting the NULL audio backend with the consequence that no sound is audible."

Here is the info of my system:

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-48-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.2.0
    Desktop: Cinnamon 5.4.12 tk: GTK 3.24.33 wm: Mutter vt: 7
    dm: LightDM 1.30.0 Distro: Linux Mint 21 Vanessa base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: PRIME B450-PLUS v: Rev X.0x
    serial: <superuser required> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 2008
    date: 12/06/2019
CPU:
  Info: 6-core model: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X bits: 64 type: MT MCP smt: enabled
    arch: Zen+ rev: 2 cache: L1: 576 KiB L2: 3 MiB L3: 16 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 1989 high: 2519 min/max: 2200/3600 boost: enabled
    cores: 1: 1716 2: 2405 3: 1738 4: 1934 5: 1886 6: 2037 7: 1945 8: 2519
    9: 1737 10: 2187 11: 1888 12: 1885 bogomips: 86228
  Flags: avx avx2 ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GK208B [GeForce GT 710] vendor: ASUSTeK driver: nvidia
    v: 470.141.03 pcie: speed: 5 GT/s lanes: 8 bus-ID: 09:00.0
    chip-ID: 10de:128b class-ID: 0300
  Device-2: Trust Canyon CNS-CWC6 Webcam type: USB
    driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo bus-ID: 3-2:2 chip-ID: 145f:023a
    class-ID: 0102 serial: <filter>
  Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.3 driver: X: loaded: nvidia
    unloaded: modesetting,nouveau,vesa alternate: fbdev gpu: nvidia
    display-ID: :0 screens: 1
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1920x1080 s-dpi: 81 s-size: 602x343mm (23.7x13.5")
    s-diag: 693mm (27.3")
  Monitor-1: HDMI-0 res: 1920x1080 hz: 60 dpi: 82
    size: 598x336mm (23.5x13.2") diag: 686mm (27")
  OpenGL: renderer: NVIDIA GeForce GT 710/PCIe/SSE2
    v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 470.141.03 direct render: Yes
Audio:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GK208 HDMI/DP Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel
    v: kernel pcie: speed: 5 GT/s lanes: 8 bus-ID: 09:00.1 chip-ID: 10de:0e0f
    class-ID: 0403
  Device-2: AMD Family 17h HD Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel
    v: kernel pcie: speed: 8 GT/s lanes: 16 bus-ID: 0b:00.3 chip-ID: 1022:1457
    class-ID: 0403
  Device-3: Logitech USB Headset H540 type: USB
    driver: hid-generic,snd-usb-audio,usbhid bus-ID: 1-3:3 chip-ID: 046d:0a37
    class-ID: 0300 serial: <filter>
  Device-4: Trust Canyon CNS-CWC6 Webcam type: USB
    driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo bus-ID: 3-2:2 chip-ID: 145f:023a
    class-ID: 0102 serial: <filter>
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-48-generic running: yes
  Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: no
  Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.59 running: no
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet
    vendor: ASUSTeK PRIME B450M-A driver: r8169 v: kernel pcie: speed: 2.5 GT/s
    lanes: 1 port: e000 bus-ID: 04:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168 class-ID: 0200
  IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
  Device-2: Realtek RTL8192EE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
    driver: rtl8192ee v: kernel pcie: speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 port: d000
    bus-ID: 08:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:818b class-ID: 0280
  IF: wlp8s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 465.76 GiB used: 277.41 GiB (59.6%)
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Kingston model: SA2000M8500G size: 465.76 GiB
    speed: 31.6 Gb/s lanes: 4 type: SSD serial: <filter> rev: S5Z42105
    temp: 36.9 C scheme: GPT
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 456.89 GiB used: 277.4 GiB (60.7%) fs: ext4
    dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2
  ID-2: /boot/efi size: 511 MiB used: 5.2 MiB (1.0%) fs: vfat
    dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1
Swap:
  ID-1: swap-1 type: file size: 2 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) priority: -2
    file: /swapfile
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: N/A mobo: N/A gpu: nvidia temp: 52 C
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Repos:
  Packages: 2988 apt: 2969 flatpak: 19
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/nordvpn.list
    1: deb https://repo.nordvpn.com/deb/nordvpn/debian stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
    1: deb http://packages.linuxmint.com vanessa main upstream import backport
    2: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jammy main restricted universe multiverse
    3: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jammy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
    4: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jammy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jammy-security main restricted universe multiverse
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/pipewire-debian-pipewire-upstream-focal.list
    1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/pipewire-debian/pipewire-upstream/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/skype-stable.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64] https://repo.skype.com/deb stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/teams.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64] https://packages.microsoft.com/repos/ms-teams stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/teamviewer.list
    1: deb [signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/teamviewer-keyring.gpg] https://linux.teamviewer.com/deb stable main
Info:
  Processes: 323 Uptime: 8m wakeups: 0 Memory: 15.55 GiB
  used: 5.24 GiB (33.7%) Init: systemd v: 249 runlevel: 5 Compilers:
  gcc: 11.2.0 alt: 11/9 Shell: Bash v: 5.1.16 running-in: gnome-terminal
  inxi: 3.3.13
Thank you in advance for any help!
User avatar
rossdv8
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1377
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:48 am
Location: Within 2,000 kilometres of Alice Springs, Australia
Contact:

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by rossdv8 »

What happens if you try this in a terminal:

Code: Select all

systemctl --user start pulseaudio.service
Hint - Close any apps that might be playing music - then run the command, then start the App and try to play music.

I mostly use VLC for testing, but MPV and others work. I just find VLC easier to see what is going on.
You 'usually' MUST close the App and reopen it for any changes to Pulse to show an effect.

Also, if you mess with pulse settings it is good to do pulseaudio -k before you do the systemctl --user start pulseaudio.service command (or most others).
If that command makes pulse work for you, there are some other things you can do to fix it so it starts properly.
There are a few people on this forum much better at diagnosing pulseaudio than I am, and with any luck one of them might walk you through some things to work on.
Current main OS: MInt 21 'Vanessa' Xfce on Lenovo m93p Tiny, i5-4590T (i915 graphics), 8GB RAM.
You can get by on Charm for about 15 minutes
Theoharis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:10 am

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by Theoharis »

Thank you very much!
It works perfectly when I try what you suggested. Would be grateful to learn of things I can do to make it work at system startup.
User avatar
rossdv8
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1377
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:48 am
Location: Within 2,000 kilometres of Alice Springs, Australia
Contact:

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by rossdv8 »

Try this:

Open Session and Startup (from Mint Menu)
Choose the Application Autostart Tab
Click the + sign at the bottom Left
Name: Start PulseAudio
Description: Start PulseAudio Service
Command: systemctl --user start pulseaudio.service
Trigger: on login

Click OK button

Reboot the system

Check if PulseAudio is working.

Let me know if it worked.
Current main OS: MInt 21 'Vanessa' Xfce on Lenovo m93p Tiny, i5-4590T (i915 graphics), 8GB RAM.
You can get by on Charm for about 15 minutes
User avatar
pcfan5
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 529
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Argentina

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by pcfan5 »

rossdv8 wrote:
Fri Oct 07, 2022 1:37 am
If you stil haven't done it, and are still having a problem with PulseAudio starting, it might be worth doing:
sudo apt install pavucontrol

There are some settings that will show up there when you run it, that are quite useful.

For example, if, as you say, the other settings for PulseAudio in Application Autostart are all [x] checked, then pulse should be running.
You can check that in your system monitor, or at the command line.
I have seen situations where pulseaudio is running, but there is no sound, and it seems as if it is NOT running.
pavucontrol has a lot of settings for various outputs. Including things like directing output to your 3.5mm headphone jack, or your HDMI ports, or even, in my case, to a surround sound mixer vis USB.

From time to time I will open my system and it had decided it wants to direct output somewhere other than where I have it set.
Yesterday, after being given the 'silent treatment' I checked all the outputs, but it was set to where I had left it. Then I noticed that the output I had selected had the 'Mute' button selected! As soon as I clicked it - I got live noise again. I had not muted the thing - it just decided I didn't need sound that day.

Anyway, as usual - this might not solve your problem - but it might give you somewhere to look before you go digging around trying to change config files.

Oh, before I forget. If you ever install PulseEffects, you will not only have a whole new world of extra stuff to play with, like Equalizers, and Surround settings etc - but a corresponding maze of stuff to check when sound is doing weird thing.
That said - I like playing with Pulse (including pulseeffects).

thank you very much good tips.. you made me smile with "the silence treatment".. this tips are useful and to kip in mine though I have made a clean instalation, again and got the problem solved by that. I know what you mean about "pulse effects"
Theoharis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:10 am

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by Theoharis »

Rossdv8, thank you very much, it has worked :) I don't think it's one of the random times it's running, what you proposed makes good sense. If it stops running at some point, I'll write it here.
I love this community, I'm a newbie but learning all the time from more experienced users! Thanks again.
User avatar
rossdv8
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1377
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:48 am
Location: Within 2,000 kilometres of Alice Springs, Australia
Contact:

Re: Pulseaudio does not run at system startup

Post by rossdv8 »

by pcfan5 » Sat Oct 08, 2022 2:10 am:
thank you very much good tips.. you made me smile with "the silence treatment".. this tips are useful and to kip in mine though I have made a clean instalation, again and got the problem solved by that. I know what you mean about "pulse effects"
by Theoharis » Sat Oct 08, 2022 3:59 am:
Rossdv8, thank you very much, it has worked :) I don't think it's one of the random times it's running, what you proposed makes good sense. If it stops running at some point, I'll write it here.
I love this community, I'm a newbie but learning all the time from more experienced users! Thanks again.
You are both welcome. For many years I would not try to answer questions because I did not want people to think I am more clever than I really am.
As I got older though, and after years of contributing to some of the early Linux distros, I have seen how important communities like this Mint Forum are to beginners, as we all were at some time. So sometimes, like now, I try to add suggestions, mostly where topics have been 'Unanswered' for a while.

Something to remember about these forums. Even as a newbie, we sometimes see something asked, that we have just found a solution for. And while what worked for us 'might' not always be the correct or the only solution' - it might help someone start looking in a direction that could lead to them solving their problem.

It's not always about 'knowing where the treasure is buried'. Sometimes it's about helping someone see how the map compares to where they are standing :-)
Soon you will both be returning help you receive on this forum, by helping others here and in other forums :D
Current main OS: MInt 21 'Vanessa' Xfce on Lenovo m93p Tiny, i5-4590T (i915 graphics), 8GB RAM.
You can get by on Charm for about 15 minutes
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”