Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 Released

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Rob Loach
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 Released

Postby Rob Loach » Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:29 pm

Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 was released yesterday and it seems to bring a lot of new features and usability to the audio player. If you like Rhythmbox's/iTunes' usability, but the functionality from Amarok, Banshee might be a good alternative.

Image

So, Banshee is a great alternative to Amarok and Rhythmbox. I find that Songbird is still just too buggy. It also doesn't play nice with Compiz. Go ahead and try the new release out!

User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 Released

Postby belovedmonster » Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:18 pm

What are the Amarok features it has that Rhythmbox doesn't? I was in two minds whether to use Rhythmbox or Banshee on my install but after seeing Banshee couldnt even collect artwork without farting about with plugins I never looked too deeply into what it could do. So am I missing out on something?

User avatar
Rob Loach
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 Released

Postby Rob Loach » Fri Mar 14, 2008 3:35 pm

.... I'm not trying to sell people on it or something. Rhythmbox, Amarok, Songbird and Banshee are all great audio players. A new alpha version of Banshee was released, so I thought I'd bring some attention to it in the Linux Mint community. It's always good to get testers.

One example of an additional feature that Banshee now has, that Rhythmbox doesn't, is the equalizer.

User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 Released

Postby belovedmonster » Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:41 pm

Does the EQ have presets?

User avatar
Rob Loach
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 Released

Postby Rob Loach » Wed Mar 19, 2008 6:00 pm

belovedmonster wrote:Does the EQ have presets?


Yes......

Image
Last edited by Rob Loach on Wed Mar 19, 2008 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

exploder
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6967
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA
Contact:

Re: Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 Released

Postby exploder » Wed Mar 19, 2008 6:30 pm

Hi Rob!

Thanks for the info on Banshee and the screenshots! I knew there was a new beta out and wondered how it was shaping up.

Thanks again for this!

User avatar
Rob Loach
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 Released

Postby Rob Loach » Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:16 pm

Banshee 1.0 Alpha 2 released. It supports video playback!

McLovin
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Banshee 1.0 Alpha 1 Released

Postby McLovin » Thu Mar 27, 2008 1:44 pm

I like Banshe, but I like the layout rhythmbox, this seems to solve that issue, I'll give it a go. Thanx for the post


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mute Ant and 4 guests