[SOLVED] Error with Update Manager Mint 13 Maya

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
mintrampage

[SOLVED] Error with Update Manager Mint 13 Maya

Post by mintrampage »

Everything was working fine... i saw i needed some updates and got this update error.. i'm still learning .. not quite a beginner but not a master .. i attached a picture of the problem.. the error is this "

----

Extracting templates from packages: 100%
Preconfiguring packages ...
dpkg: error: parsing file '/var/lib/dpkg/available' near line 51671 package 'libecryptfs0':
duplicate value for `Package' field
W: Waited for dpkg --assert-multi-arch but it wasn't there - dpkgGo (10: No child processes)
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)
A package failed to install. Trying to recover:

----

i haven't added anything ... and it's been updating fine... also can't open software manager...
update error.png
--
error in the terminal when i run apt-get upgrade
error2.png
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
mads

Re: Error with Update Manager Mint 13 Maya

Post by mads »

Open a terminal window, and run

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --clear-avail && sudo apt-get update
mintrampage

{SOLVED} Re: Error with Update Manager Mint 13 Maya

Post by mintrampage »

Thank you so very much for your help... that command seemed to do the trick... thank you i've tried a bunch of suggestions from other places..

that worked right away ... now my update indicator has it's green check finally .. thanks to you.

sucess.png
mads

Re: [SOLVED] Error with Update Manager Mint 13 Maya

Post by mads »

Nothing is better than an update indicator lighting up in green with a check on it, lol.
Glad that it worked. :D
McGregor