mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avail

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
karlchen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7566
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby karlchen » Fri Aug 08, 2014 5:56 pm

norm.h wrote:
niowluka wrote:[...] Although frankly, I would expect mintUpdate to check for updates right after starting, and then wait, not the other way round..

That was my expectation too, but I've noticed that if any updates are available they're not notified until at least after the first "sleep" period.

Well, I guess the riddle has been solved, the riddle, not the problem.
On previous Mint versions, mintupdate checked the repositories once after it had been launched and then went to sleep for the configured interval. Then it checked the repositories again and went to sleep and so on.
Since Mint 17, mintupdate only checks the apt cache when it is launched, then goes to sleep for the configured interval. And only afterwards it really checks the repositories. This matches my recent observations, too.
As my interval has been set to 3 hours mintupdate frequently does not have a chance of waking up before the system gets shutdown again for the night. (Mint 17 is still just a trial system here used for short hours in the evening. My office machine runs on Mint 13 still, and so far there is no good reason to change this.)

--
P.S.:
On Mint 17, the sleep interval has been shortened to 1 hour in order to give mintupdate a chance to do its job. We'll see ...
Image
Old bugs good, new bugs bad! Updates are evil: might fix old bugs and introduce no new ones.

norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h » Sat Aug 09, 2014 8:35 am

karlchen wrote:Since Mint 17, mintupdate only checks the apt cache when it is launched, then goes to sleep for the configured interval. And only afterwards it really checks the repositories. .

One has to wonder why this change.


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests