Ubuntu one doesn't work in LM14

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
JustDoIt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Cannot install ubuntuone (SOLVED)

Post by JustDoIt » Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:38 pm

Hi guys!
I was able to install ubuntuone in Linux Mint 14 but when I try to set after to open in terminal ubuntuone-control-panel-qt shows this error: "IPC Error"
Any suggestion?? :(
Attachments
error_ubuntuone.png
error_ubuntuone.png (48.49 KiB) Viewed 1136 times

User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1300
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Cannot install ubuntuone (SOLVED)

Post by 67GTA » Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:52 pm

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke

JustDoIt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Cannot install ubuntuone (SOLVED)

Post by JustDoIt » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:01 pm

67GTA wrote:There may be some solutions here: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/982754
Sorry my friend but I try these solutions but no one works for me...
Check my logs...
Attachments
Selección_190.png
Selección_190.png (54.27 KiB) Viewed 1134 times

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6507
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Cannot install ubuntuone (SOLVED)

Post by zerozero » Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:09 pm

- you don't need to run U1 as root
- check again the bug report 67GTA linked above specially comment n 6 (it appears that it's a fix for some in there)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

JustDoIt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:49 pm

Ubuntu one doesn't work in LM14

Post by JustDoIt » Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:10 pm

Hi guys!

I've installed ubuntuone from repositories but it doesn't start. Also I tried to install trough ppa but doesn't work. Only if run in terminal open but it shows this error:
error_ubuntuone.png
error_ubuntuone.png (48.49 KiB) Viewed 1064 times
Check logs from terminal:
Selección_190.png
Selección_190.png (54.27 KiB) Viewed 1064 times
Any suggestion?? :(

JP

PD: Already I've installed using this steps but neither works:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntuone/stable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ubuntuone-client ubuntuone-control-panel ubuntuone-client-proxy ubuntuone-control-panel-qt

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5124
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Ubuntu one doesn't work in LM14

Post by viking777 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:17 pm

Any suggestion?? :(
Use SpiderOak instead? https://spideroak.com/

It really is better although not as much free storage I admit.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6507
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Ubuntu one doesn't work in LM14

Post by zerozero » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:49 pm

[topics merged]
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

JustDoIt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Ubuntu one doesn't work in LM14

Post by JustDoIt » Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:49 pm

Any suggestion? :(

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6507
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Ubuntu one doesn't work in LM14

Post by zerozero » Mon Dec 17, 2012 9:01 pm

have you checked if you are affected by the bug linked above?
specially comment n6 https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... comments/6 has an workaround that fixes the issue for some users in that bug report.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

defreeseralph
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:29 pm

Re: Ubuntu one doesn't work in LM14

Post by defreeseralph » Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:36 pm

I am having the same problem with ubuntuone on Mint 13 w/14 backports installed. All I get is the ipError message,I tried the work around and uninstalling and reinstalling and so far I have had no luck at all correcting the error.

josephpmh
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:50 pm
Location: Kensington, MD
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu one doesn't work in LM14

Post by josephpmh » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:37 pm

Just curious: Why is this marked as solved? I haven't found the solution in the thread.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”