how to force system language in clementine?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
bbmin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:53 pm

how to force system language in clementine?

Postby bbmin » Tue Jan 15, 2013 2:38 pm

I'm running linuxmint13/cinnamon with 'LANG=en_US' but regional formats set to de_DE
I get all menus in English - except for clementine.
How do I force en_US menus?
Last edited by bbmin on Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bbmin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: how to force language in clementine?

Postby bbmin » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:18 pm

I should give an explanation - I've setup clementine to use the system default language
Of course I could set it to English - and I've done it already.
I just was curious why an qt based application wouldn't do it automatically
I had another qt based app (I can't remember which one) where I had to set it by hand
Every other app I'm using uses en for menus/messages and de for currency, page size etc.pp

User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7563
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: how to force system language in clementine?

Postby DrHu » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:40 pm

Automatic setups are a matter of currency (not the money type, but more akin to how up-to-date they be!)
--so the problem for any developer in English say, is how to manage translations and how well to do them; if they are not multilingual then knowing if a translated menu is correct or not will be a problem
    So they may only offer their native language as the structure for their application, and perhaps then depend on volunteers to provide menu translations etc..
    --computer automatic methods may not be satisfactory for that person, they have to decide..

This is why you sometimes find programs you may want to use or try out to be only available in another language, such as German, Russian, Spanish, French etc..

bbmin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: how to force system language in clementine?

Postby bbmin » Fri Feb 01, 2013 5:05 pm

Thanks for replying!
I think it's not a matter of translations. I live in germany but want all messages/menus to be in en_US
clementine has a complete translation - this is my setup:
LANG=en_US.UTF-8
LC_ADDRESS=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_IDENTIFICATION=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_MEASUREMENT=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_MONETARY=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_NAME=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_NUMERIC=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_PAPER=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_TELEPHONE=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_TIME=de_DE.UTF-8

For every other app, the system set language is recognized as en_US but not (some) qt based apps.


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fred Barclay, fungus and 13 guests