Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
BaronVonClop
Level 1
Level 1

MySQL Sock missing

Postby BaronVonClop » Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:35 pm

Hi all,

Forgive me, I'm a beginner to a lot of Linux things. However, tutorials online have gotten me through near everything and I had gotten LAMP up and running using this tutorial. Everything was working great - I'd even learned enough commands to successfully install a mediawiki and got right to work. Everything was beautiful.

However now the issue I am running into is with MySQL. After rebooting the PC with Mint on it, my website now throws me this error:

(Can't contact the database server: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2) (localhost))

I navigated to /var/run/mysqld/ and it is empty. There is no 'mysqld.sock' in the folder at all. I assume this is the problem, but I have no idea how to fix it. Uninstalling and reinstalling mysql-server and -client have gotten me no results. MySQL is running, as 'sudo service mysql start' gives me 'Job is already running: mysql' - but nothing can connect to it due to (I assume) the .sock file missing.

What do I need to do to generate a .sock file, or find out where it went to? It must be or have been somewhere, as MySQL worked fine before rebooting.

I appreciate any help,
Baron

EDIT: Apologies, I am running Linux Mint 14 64 bit.

BaronVonClop
Level 1
Level 1

Re: MySQL Sock missing

Postby BaronVonClop » Tue Jun 04, 2013 1:00 am

Update with new info:

I have scoured Google for a good six hours trying everything I could find. I have tried changing it to search /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock instead, no luck. I have searched /tmp/ for the .sock, nothing there. I have edited my.cnf with a dozen different "fixes," nothing.