Cool 'n' Quiet

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
bigdee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:25 am
Location: Norfolk, England.

Cool 'n' Quiet

Postby bigdee » Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:24 am

I should like to get Cool 'n' Quiet to work with Bianca. I have a couple of computers with AMD Sempron 2.8 64 bit cpus fitted.

Any advice/help greatly appreciated.
DAVID

nick
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Cool 'n' Quiet

Postby nick » Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:18 am

Have you got powernowd installed, (in Synaptic)
It installed by default on my AMD 3.4 processor sits at 1ghz
while surfing etc, and speed increases when required
http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 0750be7065
Also try powersaved
Nick

bigdee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:25 am
Location: Norfolk, England.

Postby bigdee » Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:51 pm

Thanks for that nick.

I do have powernowd installed, but my overclocked Sempron sticks at 1.92 Mhz.

What do yuo use to monitor the cpu speed?

Thanks again.
DAVID

nick
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Cool 'n' Quiet

Postby nick » Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:05 pm

Hi
I am KDE user and use Kinfocentre, not
sure of equivalant in Gnome, although
I have been using Linux for 10 years I
have hardly ever used Gnome
There is a nice little tool Kpowersave which allows you to select processor
speed from toolbar, again KDE
Nick

User avatar
|_NiGhTmArE_|
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:16 pm
Location: Italy

Postby |_NiGhTmArE_| » Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:24 pm

with gnome you can monitor your cpu clock speed with a little applet on the panel or if you want with gdesklet, screenlets or conky (http://conky.sourceforge.net/)

if you use the applet (right click on a gnome-panel then add and select cpu frequency) you can change manually your cpu clock, only if your cpu support the frequency scaling

bigdee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:25 am
Location: Norfolk, England.

Postby bigdee » Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:42 pm

Thanks guys for all the help.
The panel applet says my cpu does not support frequency scaling. The desklets indicate my cpu is still stuck at 1.92 Mhz no matter how little load I place on it. So powernow does not seem to be working.
Unfortunately conky does not indicate cpu frequency as I downloaded it. I will have to read up on the online manual to see how to set it up the way that I want it.

Thanks again for all your suggestions.
DAVID


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests