Deja Dup always postpones backups to samba unit

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
oniscidea
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 7:48 am

Deja Dup always postpones backups to samba unit

Post by oniscidea »

I have deja-dup set to back up daily to a smb:// path.

Just the first complete backup is done. The automatic successive incremental backups never happen. I always get a notification box saying the backup has been delayed/postponed and will start when a network connection is available. The computer and the backup server are both connected to the same Ethernet hub, so a network connection should always be available.

One way to make this message appear (not the only, as it may appear automatically at other times) is to plug a usb flash drive, something weird.

I observe the same behaviour in two different computers, one with Linux Mint 16 and other with Ubuntu 13.10. Both connected to the same ethernet network.

Any ideas?
Last edited by oniscidea on Wed May 14, 2014 3:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
oniscidea
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 7:48 am

Re: Deja Dup always postpones backups to samba unit

Post by oniscidea »

Hello! Nobody can help me?
Last edited by oniscidea on Wed May 14, 2014 3:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Don_Pedro
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:54 am
Location: Dominican Republic

Re: Deja Dub always postpones backups to samba unit

Post by Don_Pedro »

Hello,
what 's a Samba unit ?
Cordially
P.
Mint 17 "Qiana", Cinnamon 64-bit 2.0.14 Kernel 3.13.0-27-generic x86_64 Dual Boot W8
Toshiba Satellite Satellite L50D-B Ram:8 GB Quad core AMD A6-6310 APU with AMD Radeon R4 Graphics Firefox/Thunderbird inxi Fxz File
oniscidea
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 7:48 am

Re: Deja Dup always postpones backups to samba unit

Post by oniscidea »

The smb:// path to where I make the backup.
Last edited by oniscidea on Wed May 14, 2014 3:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
oniscidea
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 7:48 am

Re: Deja Dup always postpones backups to samba unit

Post by oniscidea »

Oh well... nobody knows what to do? I still have the same problem....
Any help would be appreciated!
Last edited by oniscidea on Wed May 14, 2014 3:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
altair4
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10318
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Deja Dub always postpones backups to samba unit

Post by altair4 »

I don't use Deja Dup but there is a 2 year old "Confirmed" bug report on it: Deja Dup is unable to detect network connection

There appears to be a work around in there that a few people are using the most coherent of which is post #14.
It's a curious fix since people usually resort to that sort of thing ( with the hosts file ) with samba when they really want to "browse" the network for samba hosts. But it requires that the target have a static ip address. If it has a static ip address can't deja dup point to that ip address within the application?

Anyway, that's the best I've got. Sorry.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
oniscidea
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 7:48 am

Re: Deja Dup always postpones backups to samba unit

Post by oniscidea »

Many thanks for your answer.
For what I see, I have to tell deja dub to switch from smb to ssh method to make my backup, is it right?
I will try it as soon as possible.
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”