Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana? [SOLVED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana? [SOLVED]

Post by colossus75 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 3:29 pm

Hello to all,

I have recently installed Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon Qiana 32bit on a client laptop base (no screen) Dell Latitude E6400.

I am trying to find K3B to install, it is not even showing up in Synaptic. I wish my client not to have any disc burning hassles, hence my choice towards K3B for his disc burning needs.

is K3B no longer supported in Linux Mint (Qiana)?

I tried this :

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install k3b
but it returned as "Unable to locate package k3b"

I even tried this :

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -y k3b
same result "Unable to locate package k3b"

I never liked Brasero..I've always run K3b for my disc burning needs in Linux Mint. I have Mint Lisa 64 bit running on the AMD PC listed in my signature, and K3B is there and working smoothly.

Is there a software availability difference between Cinnamon Qiana and Mate Qiana?

Any thoughts appreciated on how to get K3B installed on 32bit Mint 17 Qiana?

Thanks for reading.
Last edited by colossus75 on Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
2TB (main data drive xfs)
2TB rsync'd data drive NTFS)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Rosa 64bit

User avatar
WinterTroubles
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by WinterTroubles » Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:30 pm

I'm on Mint 17 cinnamon 32 bit and it's right there when I enter k3b into the Software Manager's search box and in Synaptic, so it should be on your's, possibly a sources problem? Though I'm not experienced enough to offer advice if it is unfortunately.
17.1Cinn/17.1Xfce

If solved please edit the subject line of your first post to include [Solved] so other users know there's a solution in the topic.

GNU Terry Pratchett

colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by colossus75 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:03 pm

When I try to find K3B in the Mint Software Manager or Synaptic...I get nothing. It's a clean new install..current updates as of today. K3B not there or repo has an issue? I'm not that savvy if it comes to software sources..I didn't muck around in there.
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
2TB (main data drive xfs)
2TB rsync'd data drive NTFS)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Rosa 64bit

User avatar
WinterTroubles
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by WinterTroubles » Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:19 pm

colossus75 wrote:I'm not that savvy if it comes to software sources..
That makes two of us :lol: However there are two things I know you can try fairly safely, the first is to open Software Sources select maintenance and click Fix Merge List and then, when prompted, click on Update Cache.. Then, when complete, check if k3b is available.

The next is

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
which updates the list available packages if I believe correctly.

If neither of these work then you are safest seeking advice from a more experienced user as I have no desire to accidentally break your system :oops: :lol:
17.1Cinn/17.1Xfce

If solved please edit the subject line of your first post to include [Solved] so other users know there's a solution in the topic.

GNU Terry Pratchett

User avatar
Incentive I.C
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:20 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by Incentive I.C » Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:15 pm

The best way to learn from it is break it OS's (is there a plural for OS?) included.

colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by colossus75 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:05 pm

WinterTroubles wrote:
colossus75 wrote:I'm not that savvy if it comes to software sources..
That makes two of us :lol: However there are two things I know you can try fairly safely, the first is to open Software Sources select maintenance and click Fix Merge List and then, when prompted, click on Update Cache.. Then, when complete, check if k3b is available.

The next is

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
which updates the list available packages if I believe correctly.

If neither of these work then you are safest seeking advice from a more experienced user as I have no desire to accidentally break your system :oops: :lol:

Tried this, didn't seem to work, too many of the repos showed as failed during the update process. Does the Country aspect have limitations on what software I install? I'm in Canada, and it seems a lot of the repos with the .CA extension seems to have failed the update process
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
2TB (main data drive xfs)
2TB rsync'd data drive NTFS)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Rosa 64bit

colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by colossus75 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:08 pm

Incentive I.C wrote:Maybe this will workhttp://www.ubuntuupdates.org/package/co ... e/base/k3b
I tried this method also, the apt install didn't work. I tried the 32bit Deb installer and came back with dependency errors.

as stated in my previous reply, does Country selected during install affect the software available? I'm in Canada, and it seems the repos in relation to .CA failed to update.

I didn't have this issue with 64bit Mint Lisa on my AMD PC, choosing Canada as the country during the initial install.

Thoughts?
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
2TB (main data drive xfs)
2TB rsync'd data drive NTFS)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Rosa 64bit

User avatar
WinterTroubles
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by WinterTroubles » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:17 pm

your problem may be beyond my abilities to assist with then, as I'm pretty new to Linux, and I'm not comfortable giving you instructions I'm guessing at.. breaking my own system is one thing, breaking yours in just not friendly.

Out of interest though, and as it may help others assist you, can you expand on
it seems the repos in relation to .CA failed to update.
such as which method, repos and what 'failed' message you get. Thanks.
17.1Cinn/17.1Xfce

If solved please edit the subject line of your first post to include [Solved] so other users know there's a solution in the topic.

GNU Terry Pratchett

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by zerozero » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:20 pm

@colossus75
@ WinterTroubles
can you post the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -r
i think that one of the sources.list (colossus') is not right
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
WinterTroubles
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by WinterTroubles » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:23 pm

At last, someone who knows what they are doing, thank you zerozero :)

Code: Select all

$ inxi -r
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
           deb http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
           deb http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana main upstream import
           deb http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana main
           deb http://mirrors.liquidweb.com/ubuntu trusty main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://mirrors.liquidweb.com/ubuntu trusty-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ trusty partner
17.1Cinn/17.1Xfce

If solved please edit the subject line of your first post to include [Solved] so other users know there's a solution in the topic.

GNU Terry Pratchett

User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by TheDynamicHamza21 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:24 pm

colossus75 wrote: I tried the 32bit Deb installer and came back with dependency errors.
Thats shouldn't happen you may have a problem with sources list. Copy and paste this into the terminal and post it here.

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
colossus75 wrote: as stated in my previous reply, does Country selected during install affect the software available? I'm in Canada, and it seems the repos in relation to .CA failed to update.

I didn't have this issue with 64bit Mint Lisa on my AMD PC, choosing Canada as the country during the initial install.

Thoughts?
It shouldn't matter but maybe the servers are down in canada you can switch to other servers.


http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1067
Linux Registered User: # 573034

Hamza21.com

colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by colossus75 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:25 pm

[img]
software_sources.png
[/img]

took a screenshot
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
2TB (main data drive xfs)
2TB rsync'd data drive NTFS)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Rosa 64bit

colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by colossus75 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:27 pm

results of inxi -r :

dennis@Latitude-Deskbook ~ $ inxi -r
Repos: Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana main upstream import #id:linuxmint_main
deb http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana main #id:linuxmint_extra
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu qiana main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu qiana-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ qiana-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ qiana partner
dennis@Latitude-Deskbook ~ $
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
2TB (main data drive xfs)
2TB rsync'd data drive NTFS)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Rosa 64bit

User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by TheDynamicHamza21 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:30 pm

theres the problem you sources list says Ubuntu Qiana...there is not Ubutnu Qiana it should read ubuntu Trutsy!
Linux Registered User: # 573034

Hamza21.com

User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by TheDynamicHamza21 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:32 pm

colossus75 wrote:results of inxi -r :

dennis@Latitude-Deskbook ~ $ inxi -r
Repos: Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana main upstream import #id:linuxmint_main
deb http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana main #id:linuxmint_extra
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu qiana main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu qiana-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ qiana-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ qiana partner
dennis@Latitude-Deskbook ~ $

use this to open and your sources list:

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
then change every Ubuntu link with qiana to trusty"like this:
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana main upstream import #id:linuxmint_main
deb http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana main #id:linuxmint_extra
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ trusty partner
save the file then run

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
Last edited by TheDynamicHamza21 on Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Linux Registered User: # 573034

Hamza21.com

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by zerozero » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:33 pm

as i was expecting, in official-package-repositories.list 3rd to 6th repo line are wrong: qiana is not an ubuntu release, it's trusty.

you should do

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
and replace those 3rd to 6th line with

Code: Select all

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ trusty partner
save and close the text editor and

Code: Select all

apt update && apt install k3b
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by colossus75 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:36 pm

TheDynamicHamza21 wrote:
colossus75 wrote:results of inxi -r :

dennis@Latitude-Deskbook ~ $ inxi -r
Repos: Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana main upstream import #id:linuxmint_main
deb http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana main #id:linuxmint_extra
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu qiana main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu qiana-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ qiana-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ qiana partner
dennis@Latitude-Deskbook ~ $

use this to open and your sources list:

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
then change every Ubuntu link with qiana to trusty"like this:
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana main upstream import #id:linuxmint_main
deb http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana main #id:linuxmint_extra
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ trusty partner
save the file then run

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
changed everything to "trusty"

less errors ; refer to attached img
software_sources2.png
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
2TB (main data drive xfs)
2TB rsync'd data drive NTFS)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Rosa 64bit

colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by colossus75 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:38 pm

Alrighty, thank you that resolved the issue.

Changing "qiana" to 'trusty" did the trick in the sources list
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
2TB (main data drive xfs)
2TB rsync'd data drive NTFS)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Rosa 64bit

User avatar
WinterTroubles
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by WinterTroubles » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:40 pm

zerozero & TheDynamicHamza21

Thank you both for appearing and educating me, notes taken here, and knowing how to check for the error I was starting to suspect, but, couldn't remember how to check for or fix :oops: :)
17.1Cinn/17.1Xfce

If solved please edit the subject line of your first post to include [Solved] so other users know there's a solution in the topic.

GNU Terry Pratchett

User avatar
WinterTroubles
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Where is K3B on 32bit Cinnamon Qiana?

Post by WinterTroubles » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:42 pm

colossus75 wrote:Alrighty, thank you that resolved the issue.

Changing "qiana" to 'trusty" did the trick in the sources list
Glad you are sorted now :D even if it wasn't any thanks to me :lol:
17.1Cinn/17.1Xfce

If solved please edit the subject line of your first post to include [Solved] so other users know there's a solution in the topic.

GNU Terry Pratchett

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”