Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinnamon?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
briwayjones
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:36 pm

Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinnamon?

Post by briwayjones » Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:45 pm

For a couple months now I have been trying to get Sketchup to work properly under Mint 16 Cinamon and now Mint 17 Cinamon without any sucess.

I have tried with both straight WINE and now Play On Linux installed managing WINE. I have tried different versions of WINE and different versions of Sketchup. Versions of WINE from the current all the way back to at least v1.4 if not 1.2. I have tried Sketchup 8 which seems to have the reputation of being the most compatible with WINE and the newest v14. And also v13. I have tried pretty much all of the tutorials on getting Sketchup to work with WINE that I can find with no luck.

A lot of trouble people seem to have with getting Sketchup to work is actually getting it to install. That is not the problem I'm having. It installs fine for me. My problem is getting it to totally run correctly. It will startup and run, but it doesn't load the actual workspace of Sketchup. You can still see an image of whatever was on the desktop before you ran Sketchup in the Sketchup workspace. You can see the cursor and select tools in Sketchup but they don't work or really do anything. I'm assuming since the workspace is not loaded correctly.

After a lot of searching I am getting the impression that Sketchup has a bigger problem running on distros using Cinamon than any other desktop environment. I have yet to find a page where somewhere was having trouble getting Sketchup to run under Cinamon where a solution was actually found. And that is Cinamon under any distro not just Mint.

So, has anyone gotten Sketchup to work properly under Cinamon?

Gillybrand67
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:45 am

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by Gillybrand67 » Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:56 am

I am in the same boat. I am new to Mint, and I have jumped straight into 17 Cinnamon. A great alternative to Windows 7.

I am quite prepared to abandon Windows if I can get Sketchup and Rhino 3d to work with Mint.

It will be something that I am going to working on to try and sort out, but, I think it is going to be an uphill battle. I have the same problems as you with the workspace not working correctly (showing last window or black screen) tools not correctly displayed and just acting very, very odd.

If I can find something that works I will let you know.

slingshot
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 3:26 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by slingshot » Fri Oct 10, 2014 6:24 pm

Hi,
Sketchup seems to work fo me according to this:
http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/201 ... buntu1404/

Just have an Intel gpu....

User avatar
MartyMint
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 953
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:50 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by MartyMint » Fri Oct 10, 2014 10:56 pm

It works flawlessly under the MATE desktop...

neotasic1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 9:15 am

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by neotasic1 » Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:05 am

Yes,
Just installed successfully in Linuxmint 17.1 with Cinnamon desktop. As far as I can tell it all seems to work correctly.

Steps followed:-

1) Install ppa and wine 1.7 following instructions in link posted by slingshot http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/201 ... buntu1404/ - only follow as far as - sudo apt-get install wine1.7 - do not run winecfg yet.
2) Open software manager and search for wine.
3) From software manager install, wine, playonlinux, wine-mono0.0.8 and wine-gecko2.21
5) On running winecfg, allow downloading and installation of mono and gecko - several error messages are generated in the terminal window - ignore these at the moment.
6) Selected Window 8.1 and riched20 (native, builtin) in wine config editor window
7) Download SketchUpMake-en-x64.exe from http://www.sketchup.com/download
8 ) Navigate to downloaded .exe file, right click open with wine windows program loader
9) After installation, double clicking SketchUp 2015 icon on desktop does not run program - so to find out why need to run it via a terminal and check out all the interesting error messages generated :D
10) Right click SketchUp 2015 icon, select properties - copy entry in command field in total (select in total and press CTRL+C)
11) Open terminal and paste this entry at the prompt and press enter

On both my computers this generates this error message (your home directory will be different) :-

env WINEPREFIX="/home/yourhomedirectory/.wine" wine C:\\Program\ Files\ \(x86\)\\SketchUp\\SketchUp\ 2015\\SketchUp.exe
err:module:import_dll Library mfc100u.dll (which is needed by L"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\SketchUp\\SketchUp 2015\\SketchUp.exe") not found
err:module:LdrInitializeThunk Main exe initialization for L"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\SketchUp\\SketchUp 2015\\SketchUp.exe" failed, status c0000135

This means that mfc100u.dll is missing but required.

11) Googling (or your favourite search engine) "mfc100u.dll missing" will take you to any number of sites where you can download this file.

12) You will need to access the hidden directories in your home directory - press CTRL+H in your home directory - navigate to /home/yourhomedirectory/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2015
13) Copy your downloaded mfc100u.dll to this directory
14) Doubleclick desktop SketchUp 2015 icon - brings up Welcome to SketchUp Make window. Click Choose Template (and select one) then Start Using SketchUp
15) Enjoy

PS I know that several of the steps above may be redundant, but this has worked flawlessly on two sets of completely different hardware configurations both running Linuxmint 17.1 with Cinnamon, so will probably work with yours. Good luck.

chrüsimüsi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:48 am

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by chrüsimüsi » Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:41 am

Installation works, but I can't run it.
when opening Layout by the Terminal:
  • fixme:thread:GetThreadPreferredUILanguages 52, 0x23f690, 0x23f6a0 0x23f610
    fixme:msvcrt:type_info_name_internal_method type_info_node parameter ignored

    Intrinsic Alchemy v3.7 Beta-0403 (Dynamic/Release)
    Built by <unknown> on Thu Apr 3 00:00:00 2014

    fixme:thread:GetThreadPreferredUILanguages 52, 0x23f550, 0x23f560 0x23f4d0
    fixme:heap:HeapSetInformation 0x2bc4000 0 0x23fcf0 4
    fixme:mscoree:FixupVTable cannot fixup vtable; expect a crash
    Thread 0000000000000026 may have been prematurely finalized
    Stacktrace:


    abnormal program termination
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x17e9bb0) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x2b08c00) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x21f5d10) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x22de9b0) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x240df40) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x242b8f0) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x255e910) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x27425c0) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x2620f20) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x2633090) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x18026c3d0) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x1749240) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0xa60bb0) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x16ac160) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x7a16a490) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0xf00b70) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x103b130) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x14c3190) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x1563708) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x1654840) stub
    fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0xcee420) stub
    ^C
Sketchup started sometimes, but can't be used (with old images from the desktop on it, as well as an image of internet browser).
when starting with Wine, it mentions:
No program is linked to this type.
somebody has a solution?

Thanks

chrüsimüsi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:48 am

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by chrüsimüsi » Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:14 pm

SOLUTION
After a long search I found this website:
https://github.com/wilfm/SkipI
Here it installs automatically SketchUp8 under Linux Terminal:

Code: Select all

wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/wilfm/SkipI/master/skipi.sh
chmod +x skipi.sh
./skipi.sh 
It works good. It still can't export as 2D and print. But better then nothing!
Thanks to Wilmf!

User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9298
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by phd21 » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:21 pm

Hi briwayjones and others,

You have some good replies here... I thought I might add some information to this..

There are some really great 3D modelling software programs for Linux like "Blender 3D" which according to all accounts is a wonderful 3D modelling program. It may already be in your Linux Mint menus. "Blender" is in the Software Manager or synaptic package manager (spm). There are many really good tutorials for this on "youtube" including those by "photo advanced", see link below. If you install the "YouTube DL Gui" software, then you can download any, or all, of these tutorials at one time (you can download anything from youtube with this).

Link to Photo Advanced Tutorials for Blender 3D on youtube.
https://www.youtube.com/user/PhotoAdvanced/playlists

Here are some posts on SketchUp and Linux in the link below, one of which claims that you can export some work from SketchUp to Blender.

http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=27401
Last edited by phd21 on Sun Aug 02, 2015 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

Bob Unitt
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by Bob Unitt » Sun Jun 21, 2015 4:18 pm

I've managed to install SketchUp under Wine on my Mint 17 (Cinnamon), and it runs - but whenever I move the cursor over the 'File' menu header it crashes. The other menus drop-down OK, it's just 'File' - and I don't even have to click it to get the crash.

Bob Unitt
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by Bob Unitt » Wed Jun 24, 2015 8:16 am

BUMP ! ?

trefall
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by trefall » Fri Jun 26, 2015 10:15 am

neotasic1 instructions worked perfectly, after trying everything else I could find on the net to no avail. Thanks neo
HP Pavilion DV6 17.2" 1366x768pix 6GB RAM
560GB DD Mint 17 (Cinnamon) Intel i5 quad 2.4mhz

Bob Unitt
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by Bob Unitt » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:52 am

trefall wrote:neotasic1 instructions worked perfectly, after trying everything else I could find on the net to no avail. Thanks neo
It still crashes for me, even after installing mfc100u - are you running a 32-bit or a 64-bit system ?

Bob Unitt
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by Bob Unitt » Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:51 pm

Can anyone suggest an alternative forum where I might find an answer to this question ?

jccrispi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:24 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by jccrispi » Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:31 pm

Following neotasic1 instructions made me get that working perfect. Thank you!

Bob Unitt
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by Bob Unitt » Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:22 pm

Are you running 32-bit or 64-bit ?

Lloyd.Hayes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:28 am

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by Lloyd.Hayes » Tue May 10, 2016 8:01 am

I have wine 1.6.2 on my computer. I followed the instructions and got a message that I had a broken dependency. Can't get Wine 1.7 it seems.
I tried Update and the Synaptic Package Manager and no broken packages are showing up. So I don't know what the problem is. There was a reference to the i386 processor. I am running a 64 bit processor and Mint Rosa is installed as a 64 bit operating system. Afraid I got spooked when I got the broken package notice in trying to update Wine, and I didn't pay enough attention. But there is probably a 32/64 bit processor issue.

Bob Unitt
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by Bob Unitt » Tue May 10, 2016 3:06 pm

You could try this https://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1710, it addresses the 32/64 bit issue. I haven't tried it myself yet, was going to give it a go next weekend.

Bob Unitt
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon? - SOLVED

Post by Bob Unitt » Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:58 pm

Finally got it working, after only 2-1/2 years :-) This way : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iL8zzWU3MSU

probus09
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:17 am

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by probus09 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:19 am

"On my 64 bit Ubuntu 14.04, SketchUp 2014 hangs after choosing a template. This has been reported as a bug and seemed to be fixed in Wine 1.7.19. However, I still get this error."

http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/201 ... buntu1404/

Bob Unitt
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: Anybody gotten Sketchup to work under Cinamon?

Post by Bob Unitt » Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:37 am

The suggested Ruby fix didn't work for me, I ended-up on SketchUp 8 - which works most of the time, but still crashes-out on occasion.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”