Can't install dictionary OALD7 or LDOCE........

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
coolbluey
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:36 am

Can't install dictionary OALD7 or LDOCE........

Postby coolbluey » Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:47 am

I have the latest OALD7 (Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary 7) and LDOCE (Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English) CDs and they both have options to install it on Linux. But whenever I do "sudo ./installation.sh" I simply see a a grey box with buttons but NOTHING written on them, no text. This does not happen in Mandriva 2009 or Mepis 7 where I can clearly see the text on the box and buttons (like cancel and forward buttons). But I want to use only Mint for ALL my work. In my desperation, I tried this on Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu but I get the same result in all of em no text just boxes with 'empty' buttons. :(

I posted this problem on Ubuntuforums too but got no response which surprised me :(

If I can fix this that would be great coz I REALLY need to use OALD7 and LDOCE for my work as I'm an English teacher.

Please help. Thanks.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Can't install dictionary OALD7 or LDOCE........

Postby Husse » Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:50 pm

Is it really
sudo ./installation.sh
not
sudo ./install.sh
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

coolblue
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:40 am

Re: Can't install dictionary OALD7 or LDOCE........

Postby coolblue » Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:54 pm

Yup...the file is named installation.sh dats why. The installation begins but i see no text...

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Can't install dictionary OALD7 or LDOCE........

Postby Husse » Sun Oct 26, 2008 8:21 am

Perhaps this is a case where you need build essential
You get it in the Software portal (or from the repos directly)
Needed when you compile etc
I don't think it's needed just to run a .sh file
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests