Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
alexjgnana
Level 1
Level 1

Dropbox, applet/ indicator not appearing

Post by alexjgnana » Sat Dec 13, 2014 7:55 am

Hello

I am new to Linux Mint and have recently updated to 17.1 (64bit, Cinnamon), further computer specifications are provided at the bottom of this message*.
A couple of days ago I noticed the Dropbox applet was not appearing in the panel after I booted up my computer and logged onto it.
I opened up terminal and typed "dropbox start", it told me Dropbox is already running.
By typing "dropbox stop" and then "dropbox start" I am able to get the applet to appear.
I have tried uninstalling dropbox and then reinstalling it using the deb package, synaptic package manager and the software manager but I still cannot get the applet to appear when the computer boots.
As I have mentioned above, the service is running, so it does not appear to be a problem with that - it appears to be a problem with the applet.
I searched on the internet and have also tried installing "libappindicator1" as directed in many forum posts, but this also does not work.
I have also checked that the Notifications applet is installed and in place.
I read something about resizing the panel, but I have been unable to make this work.
The Dropbox packages I have installed are "dropbox" and "nemo-dropbox"
Any help you can offer would be most welcome.

Kind regards
Alex

*CPU~Dual core Intel Core i5-2450M CPU (-HT-MCP-) clocked at 800.000 Mhz Kernel~3.13.0-37-generic x86_64 Up~23 min Mem~738.6/5872.0MB HDD~640.1GB(5.7% used) Procs~181 Client~Shell inxi~1.8.4
Last edited by karlchen on Sun Jan 10, 2016 12:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Merged two similar posts; Moved to 'Software and Applications'

Camillus
Level 1
Level 1

Dropbox tray icon and a bit wireless wildness.

Post by Camillus » Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:31 am

Hi!