*Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
NeoGeo64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Contact:

*Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by NeoGeo64 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:42 pm

Hey guys! Sometimes when I am using 17.1 Cinnamon I encounter a situation where the GUI becomes unresponsive except for being able to right-click on any open window on the taskbar and click on close. Then, and only then, will the rest of the GUI become responsive again (minimize and other window buttons, desktop icons are able to be clicked on again, Menu works again, etc). I didn't encounter this in 17.0. My system is "up to date" as of right now.

My hardware specs are as follows:

Dell XPS 8700
i7 4770k 3.4GHz
8GB RAM
1TB HDD
AMD Radeon HD 7570 w/ 1GB RAM

User avatar
HerrDierk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:20 am

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by HerrDierk » Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:58 pm

Weird, I have the same issue. I don't know what causes this problem.
Image

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11224
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by karlchen » Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:04 pm

To both of you:
Please, post the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
. We need some basic details about your system configuration.
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 32-bit xfce Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 32-bit
Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit Cinnamon Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Windows? - 1 window in every room

User avatar
HerrDierk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:20 am

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by HerrDierk » Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:07 pm

Well, here is mine...

Code: Select all

System:    Host: Linux Kernel: 3.13.0-43-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.8.2) Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca
Machine:   System: SAMSUNG (portable) product: 350V5C/351V5C/3540VC/3440VC version: P09ABE.012.CP
           Mobo: SAMSUNG model: NP350E7C-S09BE version: BOARD 00 Bios: American Megatrends version: P09ABE date: 07/04/2013
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-3630QM CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 19156.3 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1200.00 MHz 2: 1200.00 MHz 3: 1200.00 MHz 4: 1200.00 MHz 5: 1200.00 MHz 6: 1200.00 MHz 7: 1700.00 MHz 8: 1200.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Thames [Radeon HD 7500M/7600M Series] bus-ID: 01:00.0 
           X.Org: 1.15.1 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)FAILED: intel Resolution: 1600x900@60.1hz 
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.1.3 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card: Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.13.0-43-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller 
           driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 2000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-3: Atheros usb-ID: 0cf3:3004
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 750.2GB (3.2% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD0 size: 750.2GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 114G used: 23G (21%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 8.48GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 46.0C mobo: N/A gpu: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 203 Uptime: 18 min Memory: 792.9/7876.6MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4 
Image

User avatar
NeoGeo64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by NeoGeo64 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:11 pm

Code: Select all

tony@linux ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: linux Kernel: 3.13.0-37-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.8.2) Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca
Machine:   System: Dell product: XPS 8700
           Mobo: Dell model: 0KWVT8 version: A00 Bios: Dell version: A01 date: 05/16/2013
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-4770 CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 27139.5 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 800.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz 3: 800.00 MHz 4: 800.00 MHz 5: 1900.00 MHz 6: 800.00 MHz 7: 800.00 MHz 8: 1700.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Turks PRO [Radeon HD 7570] bus-ID: 01:00.0 
           X.Org: 1.15.1 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD TURKS GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.1.3 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1: Intel 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Turks/Whistler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6000 Series] driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-3: Logitech Webcam C270 driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 046d:0825
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.13.0-37-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller 
           driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-3: Atheros usb-ID: 0cf3:e004
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1128.2GB (2.3% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST1000DM003 size: 1000.2GB 
           2: USB id: /dev/sdb model: USB_3.0_FD size: 128.0GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 909G used: 25G (3%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 8.52GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C gpu: 56.0 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 212 Uptime: 2:10 Memory: 1196.6/7920.9MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11224
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by karlchen » Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:22 pm

Hi, NeOGeo64 and HerrDierk.

If I am not totally wrong then your machines have got the same AMD video card. - Herr Dierk's machine has got an internal Intel graphics chips as well. - This combination creates an extra layer of "challenge", because to the best of my (theoretical) knowledge Linux still is not as smart as Windows in handling 2 graphics cards in the one machine. Why "theoretical" knowledge: poor underdog me has got old machines only, which came with just a single graphics card.
If I am not totally mistaken, the AMD card is pretty new and might be one of the recent AMD cards for which the (proprietary ?) AMD driver software and the Linux kernel 3.13.0-xx do not co-operate too well.
Note: this is merely what I vaguely remember. I am not quite sure whether making the big leap forward to kernel series K3.16.0 or even to K3.17.0 would solve your problems. It is worth checking. Yet, I would certainly not do so without having found some reports confirming that it is a good idea.

Hopefully, someone using a recent AMD card on Mint 17.1 will chime inand be able to provide more reliable details than I can offer at the moment.

Cheers,
Karl
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 32-bit xfce Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 32-bit
Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit Cinnamon Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Windows? - 1 window in every room

User avatar
HerrDierk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:20 am

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by HerrDierk » Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:27 pm

Thanks for your quick reply. The thing is, I had never any problems of this kind in Mint 17.0. And neither did NeOGeo64 I think. I did already updated the kernel to 3.16 but it totaly crashed my system.

I will follow this thread and hopefully we'll get an answer.

Thanks :D
Image

User avatar
NeoGeo64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by NeoGeo64 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:56 pm

I am using a newer AMD video card (7570) and the free drivers. I haven't tried using the propritary ones yet. I doubt that would solve my issue.

Pretty much day to day use I don't see too many issues, but at least once a week I am seeing some kind of crash or glitch.

Basically, the three issues I am dealing with at random intervals are:

1) Upon waking up the computer, and the colors are "bleached out". The only way to get normal colors back is to go to a tty with CTRL+ALT+F5 or whatever F key and go back to the GUI with CTRL+ALT+F7. Only then colors are restored to normal. Again, it's random. I made an issue about it on GitHub (https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/issues/3753) and there's a thread here also @ http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=184787

2) My keyboard and mouse will become unresponsive after the computer goes to sleep or sometimes when I boot the PC. No power seems to be getting to either device, as the lights on the mouse and keyboard are not illuminated. The only way to resolve that is to do a hard shutdown by holding down the power button. I suppose I could maybe configure the power button to automatically shut down the PC gracefully if I simply can't resolve this issue... becuase I don't think hard shutdowns are good for ext4. I have a 1TB HDD and Linux is the only OS and ext4 is the only FS on this HDD. I haven't done a disk check but everything seems to be working fine and when I did try to do a fsck on my HDD it gave me a dire warning saying that it would ruin my HDD since its mounted so I don't know if there is a way for me to check it. But, again, everything seems to be working OK. Nothing is corrupted to my knowledge... but if I have to keep doing hard resets a few times a month I am sure that something is bound to get corrupted or messed up due to Linux Mint. There is a thread I posted on these forums @ http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=185071

3) This issue with Cinnamon "freezing" until I close a window with a right click on the taskbar. This is that thread. You are here.

User avatar
NeoGeo64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by NeoGeo64 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:36 pm

I am just wondering, and I'm sure that I'm not alone - where do we go after this? What do we do now?

lisapisa2
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:36 am

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by lisapisa2 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:24 pm

I am seeing exactly the same problem. I can open new windows or terminal sessions but cannot do anything in them when this happens. This never occurred at all until I upgraded to 17.1. If I wait long enough the system comes back but this can take a while. I have also checked processor utililization and nothing appears out of the norm. I am running Cinnamon on an AMD platform with an Nvidia graphics based card

Code: Select all

System:    Host: mantissa Kernel: 3.13.0-24-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.8.2) 
           Desktop: Gnome Distro: LinuxMint 17.1 rebecca
Machine:   Mobo: ASRock model: 970 Extreme3 R2.0 Bios: American Megatrends version: P1.40 date: 10/02/2013
CPU:       Hexa core AMD FX-6300 Six-Core (-MCP-) cache: 12288 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 41905.8 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 3500.00 MHz 2: 1400.00 MHz 3: 2000.00 MHz 4: 1400.00 MHz 5: 1400.00 MHz 6: 1400.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G92 [GeForce 9800 GT] bus-ID: 01:00.0 
           X.Org: 1.15.1 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) FAILED: nouveau Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NV92 GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.1.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Card-2: Logitech driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 046d:0a29
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.13.0-24-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller 
           driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 bus-ID: 05:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 628.1GB (23.3% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ADATA_SX900 size: 128.0GB 
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: ST3500320AS size: 500.1GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 109G used: 76G (73%) fs: ext4 
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 24.1C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 204 Uptime: 10:18 Memory: 1473.5/16006.6MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4 

User avatar
NeoGeo64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by NeoGeo64 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:10 pm

Well, obviously, 17.1 needed another couple of months of beta testing. I don't think it should have been released until early January 2015. Whatever happened to releasing a distro "when it's ready" instead of following some arbitrary release cycle of six months (when they're not even keeping up with Ubuntu like that anymore!).

User avatar
NeoGeo64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by NeoGeo64 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:52 pm

[deleted - post was too long]
Last edited by NeoGeo64 on Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lisapisa2
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:36 am

definitely something is amiss

Post by lisapisa2 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:34 pm

Neogeo - usually a good idea to post large volumes of data in a text attachment - saves everyone having to scroll. If you could edit your post and put the text in a file it makes the thread much easier to navigate. I know a lot of boards dont allow html for obvious reasons.

Did some checking and this has been reported a few times already

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=182568

https://bugs.launchpad.net/linuxmint/+bug/1321623

User avatar
NeoGeo64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by NeoGeo64 » Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:07 pm

OK, sorry, I am new to this. I would love to see these bugs fixed because Linux Mint is great!

User avatar
NeoGeo64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by NeoGeo64 » Wed Dec 31, 2014 1:01 pm

I am still experiencing this issue. Is anyone else? Has anyone found a fix, hack or workaround for it?

User avatar
HerrDierk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:20 am

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by HerrDierk » Wed Dec 31, 2014 5:05 pm

Nothing changed so far Neo. Most of the time I'm having this issue when running Firefox.
Image

User avatar
NeoGeo64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: SW Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by NeoGeo64 » Wed Dec 31, 2014 11:32 pm

I've been going through graphic driver hell. Ugh. The offical AMD drivers caused my system to leak memory like I had a virus. I am begining to dislike Linux. I'm thinking of switching back to Windows for another 10 years. Windows 7 has been way more stable than my experience with Linux thus far.

lisapisa2
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:36 am

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by lisapisa2 » Tue Feb 24, 2015 3:07 pm

Hi Neo,

I dont know what happened in the cinnamon release but I had been running the Mint distro fine for several releases and then I ran into what you describe. To me it happens on a daily basis. I am just hanging on hoping that perhaps the next release will solve the woes.

m-pescador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:40 am

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by m-pescador » Wed Feb 25, 2015 6:04 am

Confirmed here. Same thing.

If I right click on a windos icon in sysbar and close it, all return to normal.

No error messages that I can find. Anywhere.

Various seemingly related bug posts can be found, but no solutions so far?

User avatar
HerrDierk
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:20 am

Re: *Cinnamon* Unresponsive

Post by HerrDierk » Tue Mar 10, 2015 5:15 pm

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”