How do I install Drupal, Apache, Mysql, php ?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
colski
Level 1
Level 1

How do I install Drupal, Apache, Mysql, php ?

Post by colski » Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:30 pm

Hi,

I am new to linux/linuxmint.

I have seen a few youtube videos on how to set up Drupal locally and I also need to install apache, mysql and php.

Do I go to each individual external website and download the software from there, or is there something on linux mint already?

I looked under linuxmint.com ---> services ---> software portal and tried to search for this software but could not find anything.

I did come across this

http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1022

which talks about this command:

$ sudo apt-get install lamp-server^

So will this work?

How do I know if this software is actually on the linuxmint.com repository if that is what it is called.

It all seems a bit confusing right now. I am trying to move away from windows XP and I am having a hard time getting my head around installing software and particularly the above things I mentioned.

Can anyone help this newbie?

Thanks,
Colski

Mute Ant
Level 13
Level 13

Re: How do I install Drupal, Apache, Mysql, php ?

Post by Mute Ant » Sun Jan 25, 2015 9:52 pm

If it's not in Software Manager...
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=97158
...there's probably something wrong with it.

colski
Level 1
Level 1

Post by colski » Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:01 pm

Thanks for the reply MA.

However, it doesn't clarify any of the points I raised.

Can anyone assist?

WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20

Post by WharfRat » Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:36 pm

Drupal7 is in the repo. Open the terminal and enter

Code: Select all

sudo apt install -s drupal7
which is a simulated installation - nothing really happens, but you should see that most of what you're looking for/need will be installed.

To do it for real remove the -s

sudo apt install drupal7