Ark Question.

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
georgetoon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:14 pm

Ark Question.

Postby georgetoon » Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:53 pm

when I'm on the localdrive, I can rightclick on a file or folder,select "compress as" and compress the file as a zip file. .gz, etc.

But, when I'm on an external USB drive, this does not work. it just spins and spins without compressing anything. Why? am I doing something wrong?

I really like using this method. I've never really gotten the handle of compressing files in Ark using it's "traditional" method. Can someone explain this traditional method to me? 'Cuz once I understand it, I'll probably use it more than the right click method.

EDIT...In using Ark and trying to create an archive, I'mbeing told I do not have permission to write to the USB drive.

EDIT AGAIN.:) found teh Ark handbook.:) I see now...Quite simple.:) the problemI was ahving involved trying to create archives on the USB drive and other storage drive...I don't have these write permissions. How do I get these permissions?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Ark Question.

Postby Husse » Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:56 pm

?
Surely you can copy to the USB drive (without the use of sudo)?
If yes - you have the permissions..
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

georgetoon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:14 pm

Re: Ark Question.

Postby georgetoon » Sun Dec 14, 2008 12:46 am

Husse wrote:?
Surely you can copy to the USB drive (without the use of sudo)?
If yes - you have the permissions..


Yes, sure can.:)

Just can't compress using Ark while on the USB drive.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Ark Question.

Postby Husse » Sun Dec 14, 2008 8:13 am

Any problem compressing first and then move the archive to the USB thingy?
Running under sudo probably fixes it but we should do as little as possible as root
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: liran_a, Todd Sauve and 7 guests