How to tell if application is 32 or 64 bit?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
FirebirdTN
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:15 pm

How to tell if application is 32 or 64 bit?

Post by FirebirdTN »

Specifically....VLC and firefox?

The long version:

I have NAS/Media server at the house. When I log in to its built in webserver I can listen/play media content in a vlc "window" in Windows. It utilizes the vlc browser plugin. Can't get it to work in Mint. Not a big deal, but would be nice if I could get it to work!

One thing I have discovered in Windows, since only the developer version of firefox is 64bit (therefore regular release is 32bit) I have to install the 32bit version of VLC for this to work.

I suspect that vlc in mint is 64 bit, while firefox is 32 bit.

I thought about installing browser-plugin-vlc:i386, but the list of packages that would be removed scared me! I use handbrake and audacity!!! Any thoughts?

Thanks,

-Alan

niowluka
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 729
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Re: How to tell if application is 32 or 64 bit?

Post by niowluka »

FirebirdTN wrote:I suspect that vlc in mint is 64 bit, while firefox is 32 bit.
Not in a default install.

How about running:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install mozilla-plugin-vlc
Mint 17 Openbox (MATE) 64bit | Linux 4.1.6 (Vanilla)

Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H | AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4Ghz | G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 RipjawsX, F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | MSI R7 260X 2048 MB GDDR5 OC

FirebirdTN
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:15 pm

Re: How to tell if application is 32 or 64 bit?

Post by FirebirdTN »

The plugin IS installed (browser-plugin-vlc), but it doesn't appear to work-at least not with my media server...

Again, there are actually two choices of this plugin: broswer-plugin-vlc and browser-plugin-vlc:i386; I *assume* the former is 64 bit, while the latter is 32bit.

I am still thinking it is coming down at a 64bit plugin being installed in a 32bit browser, but how to tell? Again I could roll the dice and install that i386 version, but it sure does remove a lot of packages.

-Alan

niowluka
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 729
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Re: How to tell if application is 32 or 64 bit?

Post by niowluka »

Code: Select all

file /usr/bin/vlc
file /usr/lib/firefox/firefox
Mint 17 Openbox (MATE) 64bit | Linux 4.1.6 (Vanilla)

Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H | AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4Ghz | G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 RipjawsX, F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | MSI R7 260X 2048 MB GDDR5 OC

FirebirdTN
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:15 pm

Re: How to tell if application is 32 or 64 bit?

Post by FirebirdTN »

Thank you! Looks like both are 64bit...could be my media server is just too old. I know it didn't work in Windows with the lastest 2.2.x version of vlc; I had to use the latest 2.1.x version. Too bad.

-Alan

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”