Thunderbird contacts sync

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
badams_ios
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:55 pm

Thunderbird contacts sync

Post by badams_ios »

I swear I searched and searched. I use yahoo. I've configured Thunderbird to use Pop. How it the world, can I sync my contacts with Thunderbird?
Clewless

Lenovo ThinkServer
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4130 CPU @ 3.40GHz
20 GB RAM
3 TB WD Black, hardware raid 5 - /home
Nvidia GeForce GT 220
32" TV
In the Man Cave :)


Mint Mate 17.1

Media Center, image and video editing

DeMus
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: Thunderbird contacts sync

Post by DeMus »

Sync with what? You need to give some more details on what you are trying to do here. At the moment it is very unclear.
Just describe what you have and what you want to do so people can help you.

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17825
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Thunderbird contacts sync

Post by Cosmo. »

As DeMus already wrote, you did not really describe what you want to do.

Be noted, that - regardless if you use POP3 or IMAP-protocol - only mails get transferred to and from the mail-server, no contacts, no filter rules or whatever. Maybe your mail-provider provides a way to export and import contacts (but that would be static, no syncing).

badams_ios
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:55 pm

Re: Thunderbird contacts sync

Post by badams_ios »

I use Yahoo for my email. It's populated with my contacts and calendar. I want to use Thunderbird. How can I get my Contacts from Yahoo to sync or copy into Thunderbird?
Clewless

Lenovo ThinkServer
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4130 CPU @ 3.40GHz
20 GB RAM
3 TB WD Black, hardware raid 5 - /home
Nvidia GeForce GT 220
32" TV
In the Man Cave :)


Mint Mate 17.1

Media Center, image and video editing

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17825
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Thunderbird contacts sync

Post by Cosmo. »

Sync - no way.

Copy: Ask yahoo, how to export their contacts into a format, that you can import in TB: LDIF, tab, csv,txt,vcf) Than import them via tools-menu of TB. (If you don't see it, press F10).

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”