Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
killplaystation
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:59 am

Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Postby killplaystation » Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:28 pm

I just installed mint6 felica x86.
When using the live CD all package mangers worked fine. including the add/remove "software manager".
But now that its installed, synaptic still works fine but when i run the "software manager" i get this error:
"The data used by mintInstall is corrupted or out of date. Click on refresh to fix the problem : no element found: line 1, column 0"

Hitting refresh does nothing except for make the little error window come back, no matter how long you wait.
So i tried using synaptic to completely remove "mintinstall" and its supporting packages, then reinstalled said packages. But no luck, same thing.

Doing a search only gave me results about translations.
I'm sure a reinstall of Mint6 would fix it, but i'd like to learn about this problem and how to fix it.
Danke

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19594
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Postby Husse » Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:21 pm

Hmm - I thought I had answered this.
This is an error in mintInstall and Clem needs to do some hands on to get it working again - it has to do with xml and there is a post about it somewhere in the forum if you are interested
I have alerted Clem
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

killplaystation
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:59 am

Re: Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Postby killplaystation » Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:41 pm

Husse wrote:Hmm - I thought I had answered this.
This is an error in mintInstall and Clem needs to do some hands on to get it working again - it has to do with xml and there is a post about it somewhere in the forum if you are interested
I have alerted Clem

yeah? well like i said, all my searches led to dialogue translations. Would be nice if anyone could help me out. but it's not pressing. Because in the meantime i have the software portal and synaptic. but software managers broken broken

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19594
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Postby Husse » Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:58 am

I had a similar problem
The solution may be to delete your /~/.linuxmint/mintInstall folder
mintInstall will work again but wiil (of course) need a complete refresh
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests