Invisible application menus

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:56 am

Invisible application menus

Postby harrington01 » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:38 am

Good morning.

I recently went from Ubuntu 8.10 to Linux Mint, and am having trouble with several of my applications.

The menus items on all Open Office programs and on Picassa are gone -- the buttons are visible, but the labels on the buttons are just underscores.

VLC, Eclipse, and GIMP are all fine.

Please see attached Database Wizard.

Can anyone help me out with this?


Screenshot-Database Wizard.png
Screenshot-Database Wizard.png (10.52 KiB) Viewed 718 times

Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Invisible application menus

Postby Husse » Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:49 am

You say Open Office and Picasa
That rules out a Open office only error, but I still think the solution may be found in the Open Office forums
I doubt this is in Linux if nothing else is affected. OO and Picasa may use some common solution
It can be the nvidia driver if you have a nvidia card - possible solution here ... 92c84bed1f
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:27 pm

Re: Invisible application menus

Postby don54321 » Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:12 pm

I found the answer under a different postwith some searching. I want to post it again so others will find the answer with ease.

Problem: Open Office Menus were blank or had a dash, no text.

Solution: Go to Control Center, -> Appearance -> Fonts -> select Subpixel smoothing FIXED!

I have a CRT Monitor and this option is for LCDs. Go figure.


Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Invisible application menus

Postby vitalous » Sun Mar 08, 2009 10:08 pm

Worked for me--thanks Don--saved my butt!

I was gonna show-off Linux Mint to my boss by having OO.o open some of our old Excel files.
I'm glad I tried it out first!

I'm using an LCD, and am supprised this wasn't selected at install.

Thanks again!


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alpha-Geek, Cyberwatcher and 25 guests