Clam AV - Not in menu

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
gbybr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:29 pm

Clam AV - Not in menu

Post by gbybr »

Help - Newb here. :shock:

I just installed Clam AV but I cant find it in the Menu or in usr/share/applications, how would I correct this? :cry:

rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Clam AV - Not in menu

Post by rivenought »

What you installed was the command line version of ClamAV. It works just fine, but you have to open the terminal to use it.

Now, you probably want something added on such as clamtk, which is in Synaptic and is a GUI front-end for ClamAV. Try that and see if that is more what you are looking for. Have fun.

gbybr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:29 pm

Re: Clam AV - Not in menu

Post by gbybr »

rivenought wrote:What you installed was the command line version of ClamAV. It works just fine, but you have to open the terminal to use it.

Now, you probably want something added on such as clamtk, which is in Synaptic and is a GUI front-end for ClamAV. Try that and see if that is more what you are looking for. Have fun.
:D Thank-you for helping me out and so quickly. Yes, just installed the debian ClamTk and it looks like it's working great!

rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Clam AV - Not in menu

Post by rivenought »

I was glad to help out. Welcome to Linux Mint, by the way.

gbybr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:29 pm

Re: Clam AV - Not in menu

Post by gbybr »

Newb returns. :?

rivenought can you help me out again? Please. Seems the software won't update signatures :|
error.jpg
error.jpg (19.42 KiB) Viewed 901 times

rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Clam AV - Not in menu

Post by rivenought »

I do not use ClamAV or any antivirus, but I did look around a bit to see if I could come up with something. You may wish to look at:

http://ubuntufs.wordpress.com/2008/02/1 ... in-ubuntu/
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ClamAV
http://www.ubuntugeek.com/howto-install ... d-gui.html

There are plenty more hits. I wish I could help more, but I have not used this application before. Maybe someone in the forum who currently uses it might be able jump in and give a hint.

On the bright side, the chances that you actually need any kind of antivirus in Linux are somewhat remote at this time. If you are fresh out of Windows, you may have to adjust your outlook a bit. You can rest a whole lot easier, as well. Linux folk do not have as much "excitement" as the Windows boys have.

Guest

Re: Clam AV - Not in menu

Post by Guest »

rivenought wrote: On the bright side, the chances that you actually need any kind of antivirus in Linux are somewhat remote at this time. If you are fresh out of Windows, you may have to adjust your outlook a bit. You can rest a whole lot easier, as well. Linux folk do not have as much "excitement" as the Windows boys have.
:D I know, totally paranoid as I am an ex-Windows user. I guess I wanted ClamAV so I could remove any windows viruses from my flash drive. :wink:

rdonnelly
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: Clam AV - Not in menu

Post by rdonnelly »

Some good reading for you

http://linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php/Doe ... e-firewall

The whole OS is very secure, spyware and viruses can not easily install to it. Now in windoze, all this malware is welcome to do what ever it wants.
Using Mint since 2008
*Mint 18.2 KDE
*ASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA AM3+ AMD 970 + SB 950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1
*AMD FX-8370 with AMD Wraith cooler Vishera 8-Core 4.0 GHz (4.3 GHz Turbo)
*G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 SDRAM
*nVIDIA GEFORCE GT 610 2GB

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”